On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
bell krater

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Key Websites 

American Institute of Archaeology (AIA) "North America's oldest and largest organization devoted to the world of archaeology with nearly 250,000 members and subscribers belonging to more than 100 local AIA societies in the United States, Canada, and overseas, united by a shared passion for archaeology and its role in furthering human knowledge."

Beazley Archive Web site for the major archive at Oxford; includes bibliographies, a dictionary, Beazley's drawings, pottery database, images and bibliography, and many important links.

Perseus Digital Library Another key Internet project with vast information, both text and image.

Museum Sites 

The British Museum One of the world's great collections of antiquities, including sculpture. COMPASS is their searchable online collections database of about 2000 objects. Entries (see Discobolos, or Tanagra for example) include image, dimensions, provenance, and a short bibliography. For print publications search in the UNC online catalog for British Museum-catalogs.

Capitoline Museums Includes a searchable collections database, and a very useful bibliography of works about the museum and its collections. Selected images are included in the "Photographic Gallery."

Glyptothek Munchen Includes selected images from its great collection. Related print publications include Katalog der Skulpturen / Glyptothek München [NB27.G4 M864 1979]

Louvre Another great national museum, most noted for the Nike of Samothrace. A searchable database of exhibited works (ATLAS) is available, with provenance, location and other information. Images with details included, including new acquisitions. Related print publications include Les Sculptures grecques [NB87.P37 M877 1992 Art Reference].

Metropolitan Museum of Art Has one of North American's most comprehensive collections of Greek and Roman art. The "collection highlights" portion of the website includes selected objects, with detailed information and images. Related print catalogs include Light on stone: Greek and Roman sculpture in the Metropolitan Museum of Art. [NB85 .M48 2003] and Art of the classical world in the Metropolitan Museum of Art: Greece, Cyprus, Etruria, Rome [N5871.5 .M48 2007 Art Reference]

Museum of Fine Arts Boston One of the great American collections of Greek art, the website includes a searchable collections database with detailed information on provenance, subject, etc. Browsable highlights as well. Related print catalogs include Sculpture in stone: the Greek, Roman and Etruscan collections of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston [NB87 .B6 1976]

National Archaeological Museum, Athens A few highlights of this great collection, with thumbnails, are included. Related print catalog includes Sculpture in the National Archaeological Museum, Athens. [NB87.A75 K35 2002 Art Reference]

The State Hermitage Museum Holds Roman copies of Greek sculpture, as well important collections of Tanagra terracottas, ancient coins, etc. Related print catalogs include Römische Sarkophage in der Ermitage. [NB143 .R65 1979]

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/ClassicalPainting/web.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.