On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Creation of Adam, detail, Sistine Ceiling, Michelangelo

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Featured Resources 

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.

Art Full Text
An index to art periodical literature; indexes over 200 publications from 1984-present. Full text from 1997-present.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) (publicly available)
Indexes more than 2,500 art periodicals; covers 1990-2009. (Note: for those of you familiar with the previous iteration of BHA, RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art), which covers 1975-1989, will be available from the Getty soon as a separate database.)

Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography
Art Reference & Davis Reference N7560.E53 1998
Focuses on themes from iconographic narratives (biblical, mythical & literary). Substantial entries include selected examples of art work and further reading.


Locate Books 

Many books related to iconography are located in the N7560-N7763 section of the library collection. However, many relevant books can be found in different areas of the library, depending on the culture or subject. To find specialized encyclopedias and other reference sources, select an area from the menu on the left.

   

Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

UNC Libraries' online catalog can be searched by author, title, subject, keyword, and call number. Here are a few examples:

Author search: Fredrick Bunce

Title search: Studies in Iconology

Subject search: Jewish art and symbolism

Keyword search: animal symbolism

Keyword search: iconography -- greek art

Search Worldcat to see what books and other materials libraries around the country own related to iconography. Request materials not owned by UNC Libraries via Interlibrary Services.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/Iconography/index.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 12, 2010.