On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
mosque detail

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Art & Architecure

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.

Art Full Text
Indexing from 1984-present. Full text from 1997 - present. Over 200 international publications on art and art history are indexed monthly.

Art Index Retrospective
The retrospective version of Art Full Text. Indexing from 1929-1984. Updated biannually.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexing from 1741-present. the Avery Index now surveys more than 2,500 US and foreign journals. Three-fourths of these are not indexed in any other source. Avery covers the international scholarly and popular periodical literature related to architecture, landscape architecture, and interior design.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Indexing from 1973 - 2009.

Islamic History & Culture 

Index Islamicus
This indexes publications in European languages, from 1906 to date, on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.

General Humanities 

International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes periodicals, books, essay collections, etc. covering the European Middle Ages, c 450-1500.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.

JSTOR
An archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences.

Project Muse
Provides access to the full text of more than 40 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics published by The Johns Hopkins University Press.

More Article Databases | How Do I Find Articles? | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text? | How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?

Key Periodicals

* currently recieved (some titles are no longer published but are important resources nonetheless)

*Archives of Asian Art

Ars Islamica

*Ars Orientalis

Arts & the Islamic World (UNC does not own, request via Interlibrary Loan)

*Arts of Asia

Asian Art

*Bulletin of the Asia Institute, an index to Bulletin articles on Islamic Art is located online.

*Historians of Islamic Art Newsletter

Journal of Islamic Studies

Mimar

*Muqarnas

*Oriental Art

*Orientations

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/Islamicart/articles.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.