On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
mosque detail

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Historic Overviews - Islamic World 

Cambridge History of Islam. (2 vols.)

Cambridge Illustrated History of the Islamic World. Davis Ref. [DS35.63 .R63 1996] An introductory yet scholarly work covering all aspects of the Islamic world.

Oxford History of Islam. Davis [BP50 .O95 1999]

Quick Reference: Understanding Islam (UNC Libraries Reference Department)

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Islamic World 

Encyclopedia of Islam. Volumes 1-9 (Davis Ref. CD-ROM--see also E.J. Brill's First Encyclopedia of Islam, 1913-1936, Davis Ref. [DS35.53 .E53 1993]

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. Online. See entries on Islam and Islamic art (pp. 741-3.) Includes cross-references and bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance. Davis Ref. [CB361.E52 1999] See "Islam" and "Islamic thought" in v. 3, pp. 283ff.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World. Online.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/Islamicart/background.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, February 17, 2009.