On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
mosque detail

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Historic Overviews - Islamic Art & Architecture 

Selected Recent Surveys

Baer, Eva. The Human Figure in Islamic Art: Inheritances and Islamic Transformations. [N7625.5 .B34 2004 Art]

Blair and Bloom. Art and Architecture of Islam 1250-1800. Art Ref. [N6260 .B56 1994 Art]

Bloom. Islamic Arts. [N6260 .B57 1997 Art]

Brend. Islamic Art. [N6250 .B76 1991 Art]

Creswell. A Bibliography of the Architecture, Arts, and Crafts of Islam to 1st Jan. 1960 [Z5956.I8 C74 Art Reference]

Creswell. Early Muslim Architecture [NA381 .C72 1979 Art Oversize]

Ettinghausen and Grabar. The Art and Architecture of Islam, 650-1250. Art Ref. [N6260 .E885 1987 Art]

Frishman. The Mosque: History, Architectural Development & Regional Diversity [NA4670 .M67 1994 Art]

Michell. Architecture of the Islamic World [NA380 .A78 Davis]

Hillenbrand. Islamic Architecture: form, function and meaning [NA380 .H52 1994 Art]

Hillenbrand. Image and Meaning in Islamic Art. [N6260 .I63 2005 Art]

Hillenbrand. Islamic Art and Architecture. [N6260 .H55 1999 Art]

Irwin. Islamic Art in Context: Art, Architecture, and the Literary World. [N6260 .I75 1997 Art]

Leaman, Oliver. Islamic Aesthetics: An Introduction. [NX688.A4 L43 2004 Art]

Other Surveys Particularly Useful for Extensive Pictorial Content

Die Kunst des Islam. Art Ref. [N6260 .S68 Art] A scholarly work in German, useful for non-readers of German for its more than 400 plates (B&W and color) , plans and bibliographies.

Islam: Art and Architecture. Art Reserve, [N6260 .I725 2000] A heavily-illustrated popular work.

More... Islamic Architecture and Islamic Art.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Islamic Art & Architecture 

Oxford Art Online
Includes the Grove Dictionary of Art, Art Ref. [N31 .D5 1996] and online. The entry for Islamic Art is comprehensive and includes an excellent intro to Islamic architecture. Features extensive authoritative bibliographies and a chapter on historiography, the "history of Islamic art history". As part of Oxford Art, see the Dictionary of Art Online, which has image links and updates to the text.

Dictionary of Islamic Architecture.
Comprehensive for Islamic Architecture worldwide.
Online, Art Ref, & Davis Ref NA380 .P43 1996

Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World.
Art Ref NA208 .E53 1997 (3 vols.)

Atlas of Vernacular Architecture of the World.
Art Ref NA208 .V45 2007

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/Islamicart/background_art.html
This page was last updated Monday, November 22, 2010.