On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
mosque detail

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Archives, Museums, Libraries 

Islamic Art Collections: an International Survey.
Sponsored by UNESCO, a comprehensive guide to museums in 41 countries, and to libraries with illuminated manuscript collections. Includes scope of collection and number of objects, including "objects of unique interest" as well as brief bibliographies of print collection catalogs.
Art Ref. N6260 .I85 2000

United States

Ackland Art Museum
For Islamic objects see the Five Faiths project as well as the permanent collection.

Arts of the Islamic Book

Cleveland Museum of Art

Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, the National Museum of Asian Art for the United States
Includes the Vever Collection of Islamic arts of the book; major exhibitions such as the "Adventures of Hamza" (Hamzanama) and a link to a major art library and archives including such major photographic collections as the Sevruguin.

Islamic Art at the Sackler Museum, Harvard University
An important collection; includes "Letters in Gold" Ottoman Calligraphy exhibition.>

LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art)
An excellent museum site for Islamic art, with collection images, glossaries, a map and dynastic timeline.

Library of Congress, Near East Collections

Metropolitan Museum of Art, Islamic Collections
The Islamic collections site includes 50 images, highlights from the collection, one of the largest in the world. Images include extensive documentation.

Textile Museum, Washington D.C. Includes the virtual exhibition "Flowers of Silk and Gold: Four Centuries of Ottoman Embroidery". A museum rich with Islamic textiles and carpets, one of the finest in the world. Links include Bibliography for Textile Art of the Islamic World.

Worldwide

Ashmolean Museum, Oxford
Includes a major collection of Islamic ceramics and an extensive web-based teaching guide with thumbnails, bibliography, maps, and more.

Benaki Museum, Athens
Includes some digitized images.

British Museum, London
The collection of Oriental Antiquities includes a broad range of Islamic pottery, paintings, tiles, metalwork, glass, seals, and inscriptions, including objects from North Africa and Spain.

The David Collection, Copenhagen
Major Islamic collection and an outstanding site, with numerous well-documented digitized images; click on map of Islamic world to go to objects/images.

Discover Islamic Art Virtual Museum
Launched by the Museum With No Frontiers (MWNF), the Discover Islamic Art Virtual Museum includes a Permanent Collection, a database, a section dedicated to the Partner Museums as well as a Travel & Book platform. A Temporary Exhibition space will be inaugurated in spring 2007. Please note that some of the translations are still in progress.

Gulbenkian Museum/Museu Calouste Gulbenkian, Lisbon
Islamic art from the 12th to the 18th c. Includes some digitized images with excellent documentation.

Hermitage, St. Petersburg
A major site of great collection, with searchable, well-documented digitized images, as well as archived exhibition pages.

Institut du Monde Arabe, Paris
Information about their exhibitions, with some images and text.

Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna
Includes an archived exhibition on the Fatimids, with a few digitized images of objects from other collections.

Louvre, Paris
A few of the objects from the Islamic collection are digitized. See also the JOCONDE database, which includes documentation and some images of works from 70 French museums, (some representing the Islamic world).

Topkapi Palace Museum (Topkapi Saray Musezi), Istanbul
Website devoted to the great collections of the Ottoman sultans.

Victoria and Albert Museum, London
Art from the Islamic world, 700-1900.

Note: the Sloane Art Library has catalogs from many of these museums.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/Islamicart/res.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, February 17, 2009.