On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Capilla Del Hospicio Cabañas, El Hombre de Fuego

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Bibliographies

Oxford Art Online
Includes the Grove Art Online, an encyclopedia of art, with general introductions to a variety of related topics.

Catholic Encyclopedia
This resource proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.

St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists: Profiles of Latino and Latin American Artists N6502.5 .S85 2002 ART REF
Illustrated, comprehensive resource containing biographical and career information on 375 prominent Latino and Latin American artists of the past century.

Artists from Latin American Cultures: A Biographical Dictionary N 6502.5 .C657 2002 ART REF

Diccionario biográfico de las artes plásticas en Venezuela, siglos XIX y XX N6738 .D32 DAVIS

Diccionario crítico de artistas plásticos del Ecuador del siglo N6685 .R64 1992 ART REF

Diccionario de artistas plásticos en la Argentina N6638 .G48 1988 ART REF

Diccionario de artistas en Colombia: pintores, escultores, arquitectos (s. XVI-s. XIX), ingenieros militares (s. XVI-s. XVIII), grabadores, dibujantes, caricaturistas, ceramistas, orfebres, plateros N6679.O7 A43 1979 ART REF

Diccionario de artistas plásticos hondureños N6579 .A74 1996 ART REF

Diccionario de las artes visuales del Paraguay N6705 .C27 2005 ART REF

Dicionário das artes plásticas no Brasil N6650 .P6 ART REF

Additional Sources

1200 Mexican artists: an identification guide to painters, graphic artists, sculptors and photographers [from Colonial times to the present N6558 .S567 2002 ART REF

Women Artists of Color: A Bio-critical Sourcebook N8354 .W656 1999 ART REF An excellent resource which includes African-American artists as well as Latino, Asian Pacific and Native American. Biographical essay and exhibition, collection lists and bibliography for about 25 artists.

Guide to the Art of Latin America. Z5961 .S72 S5 ART. An early resource organized by period (Colonial, 19th century, and contemporary), then by geographical divisions, and finally by technique/medium. Includes all of Latin America, and provides concise, useful descriptions of each title.

Directory of People of Color in the Visual Arts N6537.5.D57 1993. ART REF. 759 artists, art historians, critics and arts administrators are listed, with indexes by state, ethnicity and discipline.

Folk Artists Biographical Index. NK805.F63 1987. ART REF. This is an important source for all folk artists; ethnicity is indicated in each artist entry.

Museum of American Folk Art Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century American Folk Art and Artists. NK808.R6 1990. ART REF. Latin Americans comprise a percentage of the total number of folk artists. An A-Z listing, with biographical information, exhibition lists, bibliography, list of public collections, and an index interspersed with photos of some of the 255 artists listed.

Outsider, Self Taught, and Folk Art Annotated Bibliography: Publications and Films of the 20th Century. N7432.5.A78 S455 2002. ART REF. See also this writer's other work: Self Taught, Outsider, and Folk Art: A Guide to American Artists, locations and resources NK805 .S46 2000. ART REF and NCC.


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/LatinAmerArt/biographical.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.