On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Newspaper globe image

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Tommy Nixon
Humanities Reference Librarian
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Print Newspapers book icon

Recent paper copies of many newspapers are located in the J. Charles Morrow III Room on the first floor of Davis Library (directly to the right as you enter the building). These copies are held for a short time only, usually only until the microfilm version comes in. The Park Library and the North Carolina Collection also have print newspaper collections. Please consult with staff at the Davis Research and Instructional Services desk for assistance in locating other newspaper indexes.

The Currently Received Newspaper Search allows you to search UNC's collection of newspapers by title, language, and location. It will also tell you how long the library retains print copies and whether it receives microfilm versions.

Online Newspaper Resources article icon

These online resources will provide full-text of recent newspaper articles and allow you to search across many newspapers. The dates of coverage vary from source to source, generally covering between the last five to fifteen years. To find older articles, view our resources for historical news.

Mainstream Press

America's Newspapers
Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers. [more info]

LexisNexis News
Provides full-text access to general, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information, and other topics such as biographical information. To limit your search to news sources, remember to click "News" on the menu in the upper left-hand corner. [more info]

Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus provides complete full-text coverage of 149 national and international newspapers, such as Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Times (London), Toronto Star, Washington Post, and Washington Times. Additionally offered is selective full text from over 400 regional U. S. newspapers and transcripts from CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NPR, etc. [more info]

ProQuest Newspapers
ProQuest Newspapers provides full text access to the Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition from 1984 to present. For earlier years of the Wall Street Journal, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers. [more info]

Factiva
Factiva.com covers information on industries, public and private companies, business and management topics, current awareness information, and historical news. It includes same-day and archival coverage of some of the world's most influential newspapers, including Barrons, The Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, South China Morning Post, Le Monde, Les Echos, The Guardian and the New York Times. [more info]

InfoTrac Custom Newspapers
Full text of the Greensboro News and Record (1996-), Winston-Salem Journal (1997-), Atlanta Journal Constitution(1996-), and more than 150 other regional United States and foreign newspapers. [more info]

ProQuest Digital Microfilm
ProQuest Digital Microfilm provides online access to the newspapers listed below as if one is reading the papers on microfilm (in the layout of the original print edition). Coverage is from 2008 to two to three months ago. The following newspapers are included: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, News and Observer(Raleigh), San Francisco Chronicle, Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition, Washington Post. [more info]

International Press

World News Connection
World News Connection (WNC) is an online news service that offers an array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources, WNC allows one to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. This resource is available in Davis Library only. Please have a staff member at the reference desk to log you in. For earlier years, see FBIS. [more info]

Latin American Newsstand
Latin American Newsstand provides full-text content in Spanish and Portuguese from 41 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries, including Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil. [more info]

Universal Database of Newswires (UDB-NEWS)
This database includes several outstanding sources to follow day-to-day developments in Russia and CIS. It includes the Universal Database of Central Russian Newspapers, which offers access to full-text electronic versions of major Russian and many NIS periodicals on the same day they are published, and Universal Database of Russian Regional Newspapers, which provides news coverage in Russia on the regional and local levels. [more info]

Alternative/Independent Press

Alt-Press Watch
Alt-Press Watch provides full text access to alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism. This product offers over 500,000 articles from nearly 200 publications. [more info]

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. [more info]


More Article Databases |  How Do I Find Articles? | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text?


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/News/index.html
This page was last updated Friday, April 23, 2010.