On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
American indian image

E-Resources article icon

American Indian Biographies - Off-campus: NetLibrary log-in required
This book contains 329 biographical essays of American Indians from the arrival of Europeans to the late 20th century.
Also available in print: Davis Library E98 .A46 2005

American National Biography - Off-campus: UNC affiliates only
Highlights the lives of over 18,000 persons who have been influential in the history of the United States from the early days to the present.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index - Off-campus: UNC affiliates only
Indexes various editions of over 700 biographical reference sources and covers over 5 million people, living and dead.

Selected Print Resources article icon

American Indian Biographies
Davis Library E98.A46 2005

Biographical Dictionary of American Indian History to 1900
Davis Library Reference E89.W35 2001

Biographical Dictionary of Indians of the Americas (2 volumes)
Davis Library Reference E89.B56 1991
Davis Library E89.B56 1983

Distinguished Native American Spiritual Practitioners and Healers
Davis Library Reference E89.J7 2002
Health Sciences Library Reference WZ 140 AA1 J69d 2002

Encyclopedia of Native American Biography: Six Hundred Life Stories of Important People from Powhatan to Wilma Mankiller
Davis Library Reference E89.J69 1997

Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary
Davis Library Reference E98.W8 B38 2001
Additional copies of 2001 edition held in Davis Library stacks & the North Carolina Collection.
1993 edition held in Davis Library stacks & Law Library stacks.

Native North American Firsts
Davis Library Reference E77.S96 1998

Notable Native Americans
Davis Library Reference E89.N67 1995
Undergrad Library Reference E89.N67 1995

Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian
Davis Library Reference E76.2.R4 2003 (over 2,500 biographical sketches of contemporary American Indians)
Previous editions held in Davis Library Stacks, Undergraduate Reference, & Law Library Reference

Relevant Subject Headings 

Indian women -- North America -- Biography

Indians of North America -- Biography

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/american_indian_studies/biographies.html
This page was last updated Monday, October 27, 2008.