On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
American indian image

E-Resources article icon

Dictionary of American History - Off-campus: UNC affiliates only
Also available in print: Davis Library Reference E174.D52 2003

Dictionary of Native American Literature - Off-campus: NetLibrary log-in required
Also available in print: Davis Library PM155.D53 1994

Encyclopedia of Native American Legal Tradition - Off-campus: UNC affiliates only
Also available in print: Davis Library Reference KF8204.E53 1998

A Guide to the Indian Tribes of Oklahoma - Off-campus: NetLibrary log-in required
Also available in print: Davis Library E78.O45 W7

A Guide to the Indian Tribes of the Pacific Northwest - Off-campus: NetLibrary log-in required
Also available in print: Davis Library E78.N77 R79 1986

Selected Print Resources article icon

American Indian Religious Traditions: An Encyclopedia (3 volumes)
Davis Library Reference E98.R3 C755 2005

Ancient Americans: A Reference Guide to the Art, Culture, and History of Pre-Columbian North and South America (2 volumes)
Davis Library Reference E59.P42 S3613 2001
Additional copy of 2001 edition held in Davis Library stacks

Dictionary of Native American Mythology
Davis Library Reference E98.R3 G46 1992
Undergrad Library Reference E98.R3 G46 1992

Encyclopaedic Profile of Indian Tribes
Davis Library Reference GN635.I4 E63 1996 (4 volumes)

Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights
Davis Library Reference KF8210.C5 E53 1997
Law Library Stacks KF8210.C5 E53 1997

Encyclopedia of American Indian Contributions to the World: 15,000 Years of Inventions and Innovations
Davis Library Reference E54.5.K46 2002

Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume
Davis Library Reference E98.C8 P37 1994

Encyclopedia of Indian Wars: Western Battles and Skirmishes, 1850-1890
Davis Library Reference E83.863.M53 2003

Encyclopedia of Native American Religions: An Introduction
Davis Library Reference E98.R3 H73 2000

Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism: Sacred Ceremonies of North America
Davis Library Reference E98.M4 L98 1998

Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Davis Library Reference E76.2.W35 2006
1999 edition held in Davis Library stacks.
1988 edition held in Undergraduate Library stacks.

Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare
Davis Library Reference E81.E98 2005

Encyclopedia of Native North America
Davis Library E76.2.G74 1999

Encyclopedia of Native Tribes of North America
Davis Library Reference Folio E76.2.J64 2007

Encyclopedia of North American Indians
Davis Library Reference E76.2.E53 1996
Law Library Reference E76.2.E53 1996
Undergrad Library E76.2.E53 1996

Legend and Lore of the Americas Before 1492: An Encyclopedia of Visitors, Explorers, and Immigrants
Davis Library Reference E61.F75 1993
Undergrad Library E61.F75 1993

Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia
Davis Library Reference E76.2.N36 1994

Native America Today: A Guide to Community Politics and Culture
Davis Library Reference E98.T77 P75 1999
Undergrad Library E98.T77 P75 1999

Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Peoples (2 volumes)
Davis Library Reference E77.P89 1998

Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary
Davis Library Reference E98.W8 B38 2001
Davis Library E98.W8 B38 2001
North Carolina Collection C970.03 N278b
1993 edition held in Davis Library stacks and Law Library stacks.

Tiller's Guide to Indian Country: Economic Profiles of American Indian Reservations
Davis Library Reference E93.T55 2005
1996 edition held in Davis Library stacks.

Relevant Subject Headings 

Indians of North America -- Dictionaries

Indians of North America -- Encyclopedias

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/american_indian_studies/dictionaries.html
This page was last updated Monday, October 27, 2008.