Collections 
American Indian Digital Collections
This directory from the University of Wyoming consists of links to a great number of American Indian-related digital collections, dealing with many different aspects of American Indian history and culture.
American Indian Movement Media Project Multimedia Archive
Galleries of video, audio, and links from the American Indian Movement.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest
A digital collection from the University of Washington that illustrates many aspects of life and work for the American Indians.
American Native Press Archives
This collection from the Sequoyah Research Center contains guides to Native writing and publishing as well as poetry and writings from American Indian artists. The archive features out of print and hard-to-find writings as well as prose and poetry from Native publications.
ArtNatAm: Native American Artists' Home Page
This website contains galleries featuring the work of seven Native American artists.
ARTstor - Off-campus: UNC affiliates only
ARTstor contains a wealth of images related to the American Indian experience. The Native American Art & Culture collection is organized by tribal name and contains more than 10,000 images. In addition, the Carnegie Arts of the United States collection also contains a great number of slides relevant to Native American arts and artifacts. For more information, see ARTstor Resources in Native American Studies
Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian: Photographic Images
Over 2,200 illustrations and 700 portfolio plates are included in this Northwestern University digital collection, which is part of the American Memory Collection. This is Edward S. Curtis's portrayal of the traditional customs and lifeways of eighty Indian tribes.
Excavating Occaneechi Town: Archaeology of an Eighteenth-Century Indian Village in North Carolina
An online interactive CD-ROM, originally published by UNC Press. Read about the details and findings of the excavation of Occaneechi Town, located in Hillsborough, North Carolina, or do your own electronic dig, which allows you to virtually re-create the experience of excavating this archaeological site.
Frank Fuller Avery Image Collection
This digital collection contains roughly 800 images selected from 5x7 inch glass negatives taken by Avery during the years of 1901 to 1916, during which time Avery was assigned to the Colville Indian Agency.
George Catlin and His Indian Gallery: Highlights from the Exhibition
This collection consists of over 500 portraits of the Plains Indians, completed by George Catlin in the 1830s. Catlin was the first artist to capture the life and customs of the Plains Indians in their own territories.
Great Spirit: North American Indian Portraits - Off-campus: NetLibrary log-in required
This electronic book contains roughly 80 photographs of American Indians and includes biographical information regarding the people presented in each photo.
History of the American West, 1860-1920
From the Denver Public Library, this collection of over 30,000 photographs helps to demonstrate different aspects of life in the early American West and documents the lives and customs of over forty American Indian tribes.
Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains - Online Image Database
A collection of Montana State University, these images were brought together by combining materials from three of the Montana State University campuses (Bozeman, Billings, and Havre), the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, and Little Big Horn College in Crow Agency, Montana.
L. V. McWhorter Native American Artifact Collection
This collection consists of cultural and historical artifacts of the Yakama, Nez Perce, Bannock, and Flathead tribes from between the years of 1926 and 1935.
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
Provides online access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents of many American Indian tribes.
Pictures of Native Americans in the United States
The pictures in this collection depict Native Americans, their culture, their homes, and their activities. The photos have been selected from the photo records deposited in the National Archives by several government agencies.
Picturing the New World: the Hand-Colored De Bry Engravings of 1590 (UNC Libraries)
A collection of rare images from De Bry's illustrated edition of A Briefe and True Report of the New Found Land of Virginia. The engravings represent the earliest published images of Native Americans.
Telling the Stories - Native American Language and Cultural Resources in New Mexico.
Video of New Mexican American Indians telling their own stories in their own words. Also provides an American Indian language map of New Mexico and offers links to cultural resources as well as online government documents, maps, and reports.
Selected Print Resources 
Honor Dance: Native American Photographs
Davis Library E77.5.R85 1985
Undergrad Library E77.5.R85 1985
Indian Lives: A Photographic Record from the Civil War to Wounded Knee
Davis Library Folio E77.5.H54 1994
Indian Nations: Pictures of American Indian Reservations in the Western United States
Art Library E78.W5 L96 2002
North American Indian: The Complete Portfolios
Davis Library E77.C87 1997
Photograph and the American Indian
Davis Library E77.5.B87 1994
Relevant Subject Headings
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/american_indian_studies/digitalcollections.html
This page was last updated Monday, October 27, 2008.

