On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
American indian image

E-Resources article icon

American Indian History and Culture
This site links to many American Indian cultural centers, provides a long list of recommended reading, and brings together sites on American Indian agriculture, biography, culture, economics, identity, religion, and more.

American Indian Tribal Directory
Interactive map of the United States, broken up by region. Clicking on a region brings up contact information for the various American Indian tribes that exist in the region.

American Indians Catalogue of Internet Resources
Offers links to many American Indian collections available online, including catalogs, databases, and other web directories.

Cyndi's List - Native American
A very large listing of links to American Indian resources online, organized alphabetically by category.

Index of Native American Resources on the Internet
Provides links to American Indian websites on culture, language, history, education, health, archaeology, media, gaming, and much more.

Indians/Native Americans
This site links to National Archives & Records Administration resources, National Park Service resources, digital collections, genealogical resources, historical resources, laws and treaties, and tribal resources.

National Directory of Tribal Archives, Libraries and Museums
An online directory of libraries, museums, archives, tribal college libraries, tribal cultural organizations, and non-tribal cultural organizations that seek, in some way, to educate or promote information regarding American Indians.

Native American History & Culture
Provides a long list of online primary sources, as well as general and comprehensive websites, legislation, timelines, maps, flags, and much more.

Native Web Resources
Another large collection of links to American Indian online resources. Categories include anthropology & archeology, art, crafts, education, environment, food, law, libraries, movie & art reviews, museums, photography, religion, sports, women, and more.

Selected Print Resources article icon

American Indian Index: A Directory of Indian Country, USA
Storage E76.2.F7 1985 (Use Request Form to Order)

American Indian Reference and Resource Manual
Davis Library E76.7.A44 1996

Indian Country Address Book
Davis Library E76.2.I527

Native Americans Information Directory (2 volumes: 1993, 1998)
Davis Library E77.N38

Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian
Davis Library Reference E76.2.R4 2003
Previous editions held in Davis Library stacks.

Relevant Subject Heading 

Indians of North America -- Directories

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/american_indian_studies/directories.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, January 24, 2012.