E-Resources 
American Indians Government Resources
Provides links to census information, crime, economic, education, environment, family, health, history, housing, human rights, and military information.
Bureau of Indian Affairs
The BIA governs over 55 million acres of land held by the United States for American Indians and also provides educational services to roughly 50,000 American Indian students. The BIA website links to government agency webpages that are relevant to American Indians and also links to many environmental, cultural, and inter-tribal organizations.
Decisions of the Interior Board of Indian Appeals
This site contains decisions issued by the Interior Board of Indian Appeals from 1970 forward, and it includes some decisions
of the Interior Board of Land Appeals and Indian Self-Determination Act Decisions. This site also provides some surveys of IBIA
decisions on land acquisition, probate, and tribal government.
Documents of United States Indian Policy - Off-campus: UNC affiliates only
Also available in print: Davis Library Reference KF8205 .D63 2000
Contains 238 important historical documents illustrating the relationship between the US Government and American Indians.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
Commonly known as the Kappler Report, this 7 volume set of American Indian laws and treaties is available for free online. The complete collection is searchable or you may browse each volume's index or table of contents. Early Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations is also available from this website, and includes the early treaties not included in the Kappler Report.
National Tribal Justice Resource Center
A project of the National American Indian Court Judges Association, this site provides links to many Tribal Codes, Tribal Court documents, court directories, and much more.
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
Provides online access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents of many American Indian tribes.
Tribal & Federal Government and Law
A research guide dedicated to Tribal & Federal government and law resources. It includes listings of encyclopedias, government documents, laws, regulations, important court cases, and more.
Tribal Codes, Laws, and Constitutions
"The National Indian Law Library (NILL) has assembled the largest print and electronic collection of tribal codes and constitutions of the sovereign tribes and Alaska Native villages in the United States. This Tribal Law Gateway has been designed to help the researcher access the hundreds of copies of codes and constitutions held by the library as well as other tribal law documents in the library collection and found elsewhere."
Tribal Court Clearinghouse
A comprehensive website dedicated to providing access for American Indians not only to tribal laws, but also to relevant federal and state laws. The site also contains a wealth of links to resources specifically for American Indians.
Selected Print Resources 
Documents of United States Indian Policy (also available electronically)
Davis Library KF8205.D63 2000
Previous editions held in Davis, Law, and Undergraduate libraries.
Early American Indian Documents: Treaties and Laws, 1607-1789 (20 volumes)
Law Library KF8202 1607 .E274 1979
Guide to American Indian Documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899
Davis Reference KF8201.A1 J63
Law Library Stacks KF8201.A1 J63 1977
Handbook of Federal Indian Law: With Reference Tables and Index
Davis Library KF8204 1942
Law Library Stacks KF8205.A33 1942
Ratified Indian Treaties, 1722-1869 (16 reels)
Davis Library Microfilm 1-5034
Relevant Subject Headings
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/american_indian_studies/government.html
This page was last updated Monday, October 27, 2008.

