E-Resources 
American Indian Records on Microfilm
Listing of American Indian records available on microfilm at the National Archives in Fort Worth, Texas. The list is organized by tribe, and also includes records from the Oklahoma Historical Society's microfilm collection, records from Indian schools, and documents regarding non-Indians in Indian territories.
Documents of United States Indian Policy - Off-campus: UNC affiliates only
Also available in print: Davis Library Reference KF8205.D63 2000
Contains 238 important historical documents illustrating the relationship between the US Government and American Indians.
Guide to Records Relating to Native Americans
A guide to records relating to Native Americans held in the New York State Archives. The collection maintains colonial records, early state legislative records, early gubernatorial records, land records, Thomas Indian School records, population census records, state laws, and recent public policy records.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
Commonly known as the Kappler Report, this 7 volume set of American Indian laws and treaties is available for free online. The complete collection is searchable or you may browse each volume's index or table of contents. Early Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations is also available from this website, and includes the early treaties not included in the Kappler Report.
Indian Removal Act
The act that allowed Andrew Jackson to grant unsettled lands west of the Mississippi to American Indians in exchange for Indian lands within existing state borders. This act eventually led to the forced march of the Cherokee Indians to the west, which became known as "The Trail of Tears."
Indians/Native Americans
This site links to National Archives & Records Administration resources, National Park Service resources, digital collections, genealogical resources, historical resources, laws and treaties, and tribal resources.
Native American Manuscripts Collection
Listing of Native American manuscript resources available in the Western History Collections at the University of Oklahoma Norman campus. Manuscripts are arranged by nation, and include the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Seminole, Creek, and Cheyenne-Arapaho tribes.
Tribal Codes, Laws, and Constitutions
"The National Indian Law Library (NILL) has assembled the largest print and electronic collection of tribal codes and constitutions of the sovereign tribes and Alaska Native villages in the United States. This Tribal Law Gateway has been designed to help the researcher access the hundreds of copies of codes and constitutions held by the library as well as other tribal law documents in the library collection and found elsewhere."
Tribal Court Clearinghouse
A comprehensive website dedicated to providing access for American Indians not only to tribal laws, but also to relevant federal and state laws. The site also contains a wealth of links to resources specifically for American Indians.
Selected Print Resources 
American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications
Davis Library Reference E77.U56 1995
1998 edition held in Davis Library Microfilm.
1984 edition held in Davis Library stacks.
Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution
Davis Library Reference E51.U55
Davis Library Reference Federal Documents SI2.1
North Carolina Collection C970.01 U58a 1895-
Cherokee National Records (Incomplete set)
Davis Library Microfilm 1-5623
Guide to American Indian Documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899
Davis Library Reference KF8201.A1 J63
Law Library Stacks KF8201.A1 J63 1977
Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians
Davis Library Reference Z1209.2.U5 H54 1982
Davis Library Reference Federal Documents GS 4.6/2:Am 3
Davis Library Z1209.2.U5 H54 1982
Law Library Stacks E93 .H54 1982
Index to Bulletins 1-100 of the Bureau of American Ethnology; With Index to Contributions to North American Ethnology, Introductions, and Miscellaneous Publications
Davis Library E51.U6 no. 178
Relevant Subject Headings
Indians of North America -- History -- Sources
Indians of North America -- Government relations -- Sources.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/american_indian_studies/primarysources.html
This page was last updated Monday, October 27, 2008.

