On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Women being transported from Memphis, Tennessee to an Arkansas plantation, July 1937. From the New York Public Library.

Contact question icon

Robert Dalton
Librarian for History
rdalton@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Tommy Nixon
Librarian for English/Comparative Literature
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Chat with us

Chat requires JavaScript.

Citing citing icon

Writing and Citing - Refworks and Citation Builder

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Article Databases 

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.

America, History and Life
An index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and book reviews. You can search by "American South" or by "United States" and South, for instance.

MLA International Bibliography Plus Full Text via Chadwyck-Healey's LiteratureOnline
A major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore and cultural studies. Many Southern writers are included.

Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Approximately 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries are covered. You can search on "American South" and families, for example.

Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is the major indexing and full-text database for African-American studies.

Academic Search Premier
Includes thousands of popular and scholarly journals covering a wide range of topics with many full-text articles. You could search on "American South" and "economic development," for instance, or "North Carolina" and education.


Books

Search the Catalog

   

Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat


Subject Searching in the UNC Catalog 

Subject headings are controlled vocabulary that classify library materials by topic. For example, Southern States is one of the major subject headings for the American South. Because the library catalog uses Southern States as the major subject heading, a subject search for the American South will yield far fewer results. In many instances, subject headings will greatly improve the accuracy of a catalog search. Below are a few selected examples:

Rocky Mount (N.C.) -- history

Georgia -- Politics and government

Women -- Southern States

Authors, American -- Southern States

North Carolina -- Archival resources

Southern States -- Social conditions


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/american_south/index.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, November 02, 2010.