
Find Info About...
Contact 
Jacqueline Solis
Librarian
Davis Library
jsolis@email.unc.edu
962-1151
Davis Reference Desk
(919)962-1151
AIM: DavisRefDesk
Davis Chat
Featured Resources 
Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.
Anthropology Plus
Provides indexing for the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology; also for ethnology, archaeology, folklore and material culture. Search both Anthropological Index: 1957-present and Anthropological Literature: Late 19th century to present. [more info]
AnthroSource
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource provides current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications--including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly--and complete web archives of all AAA journals. [more info]
Abstracts in Anthropology
Abstracts in Anthropology provides 3,000 abstracts per year from several hundred anthropology and related journals. Topics are wide-ranging and include archaeology, linguistics and language, environmental concerns, population, genetics, evolution, and non-human primates. [more info]
Also available in print:
Davis Library Reference Row 14 GN1.A15 (1970-present)
AATA Online - publicly available
Offers all 36 volumes of Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts and IIC Abstracts, published from 1955 to the present. AATA provides abstracts for books, articles, reports, conference proceedings, and dissertations. [more info]
Finding Books 
Search the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries' Catalog
The vast majority of anthropological and archaeological materials are located in Davis Library. Relevant titles can be found throughout the library collection, but most anthropological materials are located in the GN call number range (4th floor), while most archaeological materials are found in the CC range (3rd floor).
One good strategy when you are searching the library catalog is to begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant books:
Keyword Search: Basque culture
Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the item's Library of Congress (LC) Subject Headings and follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find other, similar books. Some common LC Subject Headings for anthropology and archaeology are listed below.
LC Subject Heading: Anthropology
LC Subject Heading: Archaeology
LC Subject Heading: Ethnology
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/anthropology/
This page was last updated Wednesday, January 04, 2012.

