On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Image from LOC/Flickr Commons

Find Info About...  

Contact  question icon

Pam Sessoms
Electronic Reference Services Librarian
pam_sessoms@unc.edu
919-962-1151

Davis Reference Desk
(919) 962-1151
AIM: DavisRefDesk

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Selected E-Resources article icon

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.

AATA Online - publicly available
Offers all 36 volumes of Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts and IIC Abstracts, published from 1955 to the present. AATA provides abstracts for books, articles, reports, conference proceedings, and dissertations. [more info]

Abstracts in Anthropology
Abstracts in Anthropology provides 3,000 abstracts per year from several hundred anthropology and related journals. Topics are wide-ranging and include archaeology, cultural patterns, medicine and disease transmission, linguistics and language, environmental concerns, population, genetics, evolution, and non-human primates. [more info]
Also available in print:
Davis Library Reference Row 14 GN1.A15 (1970-present)

Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute - publicly available
Provides basic bibliographic references to over 700 periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library. References are available for periodicals from the 1970s to present, with a limited amount of data provided from the late 1960s.

Anthropology Plus
Provides indexing for the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology; also for ethnology, archaeology, folklore and material culture. Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore; and material culture. Search both Anthropological Index: 1957-present and Anthropological Literature: Late 19th century to present. [more info]

AnthroSource
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource provides current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications--including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly--and complete web archives of all AAA journals. [more info]

ARD, the Anthropology Review Database - publicly available
ARD is an ever-growing, free, and fully searchable database of reviews covering the entire gamut of anthropological publications, including books, audiovisual materials, software & multimedia, exhibits, tourist sites, conferences, and online resources. [more info]

eHRAF World Cultures
Provides online access to currently produced annual installments from Human Relations Area Files, Inc. The online version draws from monographs, journal articles, and manuscripts of cultural anthropology materials relating to cultural groups (past and present) both in North America and worldwide. [more info]

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers the international literature for linguistics and related language sciences. Over 1,500 journals are indexed, as are many books, book chapters, and dissertations. [more info]
Also available in print:
Davis Library Reference Z7001.L15 (1985-present)

National Archeological Database - publicly available
An expanded bibliographic inventory of over 350,000 reports on archeological investigation and planning, mostly of limited circulation.

Rural Development Abstracts
Covers journal articles, reports, conferences, and books dealing with the development of rural areas in developing countries. Topics include land reform, land and water resources, environmental policy, economic development, employment, finance and credit, health and nutrition, and rural sociology. [more info]
Also available in print:
Davis Reference Row 14 GF1.G45 (1978-2003)


View All Anthropology & Archaeology E-Journals | View All Anthropology & Archaeology Article Databases  | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text?


Selected Print Resources  article icon

Anthropological Literature
Davis Library Z5112.A57 (1989-1999)
Davis Library Reference Row 14 Serial 10-50 (1984-1988)

British Archaeological Abstracts
Davis Library DA90.B73 (1968-1991)

International Bibliography of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Davis Reference Row 14 Z7161.I593 (1955-present)

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/anthropology/articles.html
This page was last updated Thursday, November 13, 2008.