On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Image from LOC/Flikr Commons

Find Info About...  

Contact  question icon

Pam Sessoms
Electronic Reference Services Librarian
pam_sessoms@unc.edu
919-962-1151

Davis Reference Desk
(919) 962-1151
AIM: DavisRefDesk

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Collections article icon

Anthropology Collection Database
A collection from the Department of Anthropology at the California Academy of Sciences containing roughly 17,000 objects related to the ethnography and archaeology of indigenous cultures in western North America, southwest United States, the Pacific Rim, the Pacific Islands, East Africa, the Middle East, Europe, and Central and South America.

Archaeology Channel
Video, audio, news, and links related to the field of archaeology. The site contains archaeological resources for areas across the globe.

Archaeology Image Bank
Intended as a tool for locating and sharing archaeological images, this online collection contains roughly 1,400 photographs related to archaeological digs and sites.

California Academy of Sciences - Department of Anthropology
Search the entire collection database, which is an online, searchable collection of nearly 16,000 objects and 14,000 images. The online exhibits feature a number of different cultures from around the globe.

Duke Papyrus Archive
The archive "provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt. The target audience includes: papyrologists, ancient historians, archaeologists, biblical scholars, classicists, Coptologists, Egyptologists, students of literature and religion and all others interested in ancient Egypt." The site also links to a number of other online papyrus collections.

eHRAF World Cultures
"A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level."

Exploring Ancient World Cultures
Originating from the University of Evansville, this collection features original essays as well as primary source texts for eight major world cultures: The Near East, India, Egypt, China, Greece, Rome, Early Islam, and Medieval Europe.

Harvand Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology
Online exhibits include "The Ethnography of Lewis and Clark," "Gifting and Feasting in the Northwest Coast Potlatch," "Rainmakers from the Gods: Hopi Katsinam," "Against the Winds: American Indian Running Traditions," "Three Generations of Women Anthropologists," and "The Children of Changing Woman."

Minnesota State University, Mankato EMuseum
A completely virtual museum affiliated with the Anthropology Department at Minnesota State University, Mankato. The collection focuses on archaeology, biological anthropology, cultural anthropology, history, and related subjects.

Margaret Mead: Human Nature and the Power of Culture
This collection from the Library of Congress is organized into three areas: Mead's childhood and education, her field work in Samoa and the South Pacific, and her later work on American culture.

Mesoamerican Photo Archives
This collection is divided into eight high-quality photo galleries, each of which contains full-color photographs and captions of archaeological sites and museums from Mexico.

National Anthropological Archives - Online Exhibits
This online collection features 9 exhibits, primarily focused on the tribes of North American Indians. The collection consists of paints, drawings, photographs, and primary source documents.

Penn Museum - Online Exhibitions
The Penn Museum offers a large collection of online exhibits on people, places, and events of significance in the anthropological and archaeological fields.

University of Michigan Museum of Anthropology Image Database
"The Image Database includes photographs from original excavations, personal collecting, reference books and magazines, as well as images of artifacts within the Museum's collections." Search the collection or browse by county, period, site name, culture, and much more.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/anthropology/digitalcollections.html
This page was last updated Thursday, November 13, 2008.