On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Image from LOC/Flikr Commons

Find Info About...  

Contact  question icon

Pam Sessoms
Electronic Reference Services Librarian
pam_sessoms@unc.edu
919-962-1151

Davis Reference Desk
(919) 962-1151
AIM: DavisRefDesk

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Reference Books

Use these reference books to find quick and accurate information on a number of general and specific topics within the disciplines of Anthropology and Archaeology.

Atlases

Selected E-Resources

American Memory -- Map Collections
The Library of Congress' searchable and browsable map collection, covering a great deal of U.S. history.

Archaeology: World Atlas
Arranged by country, this database provides information on distant corners of the world and also pinponts where departments of anthropology, history, or archaeology are located.

Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative
A browseable portal providing atlases for Africa, Australia, East Asia, Eurasia, Europe, the Middle East, North America, the Pacific, Russia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and more.

Map Finder (UNC Libraries)
"The Maps Collection acquires cartographic resources for all world areas in a variety of formats: sheet maps, atlases, gazetteers, cd-roms, journals, and microfiche. Map Finder provides access to maps not cited in the online catalog."

Mapping History
This site provides interactive maps and images from ancient civilization to nineteenth-century America. Topics include economics, territorial expansion, religion, and slavery.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Historical map archive, including the following regional collections: Africa, the Americas, Asia, Australia & the Pacific, Europe, the Middle East, Russia and the Former Soviet Republics. Also offers a lengthy online atlas directory.


Selected Print Resources

Anthropological Atlas: Ecology and Cultural Traits, Languages and Linguistic Traits, Demographic and Biological Traits
Davis Library Folio DS430.S545 1992 v. 11

Archaeological Atlas of the World
Davis Reference Row 19a G1046.E15 W5

Atlas for Anthropology
Davis Library Reference Row 19a G1046.E1 S7 1968
Davis Library G1046.E1 S7 1968

Atlas of Archaeology (2 volumes)
Davis Library Reference CC165.A75 1998

Atlas of World Archaeology
Davis Library Reference CC165.A85 2000

Atlas of World Cultures: A Geographical Guide to Ethnographic Literature
Davis Library Reference Row 19a G1046.E1 P7 1989
Undergraduate Library G1046.E1 P7 2004

Goode's World Atlas
Davis Library Reference Desk G128.G663 2000
Undergraduate Library Reference G128.G663 2000

RETURN TO TOP


Bibliographies

Selected E-Resources

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.

ARD, the Anthropology Review Database - publicly available
A database containing reviews of anthropological books, films, audio, software, multimedia, and online resources. Provides broad coverage of current publications and products.

Annual Review of Anthropology
Full text available for the entire run of this publication (1972-present)
Also available in print:
Davis Library GN1.A623

National Archeological Database - publicly available
An expanded bibliographic inventory of over 350,000 reports on archaeological investigation and planning, mostly of limited circulation.

Biennial Review of Anthropology
Full text available for the entire run of this publication (1959-1971).

International Bibliography of Anthropology
Full text available from 1951-present in the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences.
Also available in print (1955-present):
Davis Library Z7161.I593


Selected Print Resources

America's Ancient Treasures: A Guide to Archeological Sites and Museums in the United States and Canada
Davis Library Reference E56.F64 1993

Anthropological Bibliographies: A Selected Guide
Davis Library Reference Z5111.A573 1981

Anthropological Fieldwork: An Annotated Bibliography
Davis Library Reference Z5118.F44 G7 1988

Anthropological Resources: A Guide to Archival, Library and Museum Collections
Davis Library Reference GN14.A77 1999

Anthropology Journals and Serials: An Analytical Guide
Davis Library Reference Z5112.W54 1986
Additional copy in Davis stacks.

Ethnographic Bibliography of North America
Davis Library Reference Z1209.2.N67 M87 1975

Fieldwork in the Library: A Guide to Research in Anthropology and Related Area Studies
Davis Library Reference Z5111.W47 1994

Keyguide to Information Sources in Archaeology
Davis Library Reference CC120.W66 1985

RETURN TO TOP


Biographies

Selected E-Resources

American Anthropology Obituary Index
Each entry provides year of birth, year of death, and the source for the information.

Anthropology Biography Web
Offers brief, encyclopedic entries on the lives of 392 significant anthropologists (or prominent thinkers in other fields who have influenced the discipline).

Visions of Culture: An Introduction to Anthropological Theories and Theorists - Off-campus: NetLibrary log-in required.
Also available in print:
Davis Library GN33.M587 1997
Undergraduate Library GN33.M587 1997

Selected Print Resources

Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Davis Library Reference GN20.B56 2004

Biographical Directory of Anthropologists Born Before 1920
Davis Library Stacks Z5111.B56 1988

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologists
Davis Library Reference CC110.E54 1999

International Dictionary of Anthropologists
Davis Library Reference GN20.I5 1991
Undergraduate Library Reference GN20.I5 1991

Routledge Dictionary of Anthropologists
Davis Library Reference GN20.G3513 2004

Seminal and Contemporary Leaders in Anthropology: Their Theories and Methods. An Exploration of Anthropologists' Contributions to the Understanding of Man, Society and Culture
Davis Library GN20.K55

Women Anthropologists: A Biographical Dictionary
Davis Library Reference GN20.W63 1988

RETURN TO TOP


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Selected E-Resources

Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology - Off-campus: UNC affiliates only
Three parts contain chapters on "Humanity," "Culture," and "Social Life." Each chapter includes references.
Also available in print:
Davis Library Reference GN25.C65 1994
Undergraduate Library Reference GN25.C65 1994

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology - Off-campus: UNC affiliates only
Entries include cross-references. The Quick Reference Section includes features such as "Principal cultural phases in the Americas."
Also available in print:
Davis Library Reference CC70.D378 2002

Dictionary of Anthropology - Off-campus: NetLibrary log-in required
Entries provide references and further reading. Includes a large bibliography.
Also available in print:
Davis Library Reference GN307.D485 1997
Undergraduate Library Reference GN307.D485 1997

Encyclopedia of Anthropology - Off-campus: UNC affiliates only
A 5-volume set. Volume 1 provides a list of entries and a reader's guide. Entries include see also references and further reading. Volume 5 provides a master bibliography and an index.
Also available in print:
Davis Library Reference GN11.E63 2006

Ethnic Groups Worldwide: A Ready Reference Handbook - Off-campus: NetLibrary log-in required
Arranged by world region, then country. There is a bibliography on each region and a subject index.
Also available in print:
Health Sciences Library Reference GN316 L665e 1998

Social and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts - Off-campus: UNC affiliates only
Nearly 60 substantial essays concerning key concepts in contemporary anthropological studies, with an emphasis on the argumentation and diversity of ways in which anthropologists have understood these concepts over time.
Also available in print:
Davis Library GN316.R37 2007
Davis Library GN316.R377 2000
Undergraduate Library GN316.R377 2000

Selected Print Resources

Archaeological Method and Theory: An Encyclopedia
Davis Library Reference CC75.A654 2000

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
Davis Library Reference GN307.E52 1996
Undergraduate Library Reference GN307.E52 1996

Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology
Davis Library Reference CC77.H5 E53 2002

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Archaeology
Davis Library Reference CC70.K56 2000

Milestones in Archaeology: A Chronological Encyclopedia
Davis Library Reference CC100.M87 2007

Routledge Dictionary of Anthropologists
Davis Library Reference GN20.G3513 2004

Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies
Davis Library HM623.B38 2004
Undergraduate Library Reference HM623.B38 2004

RETURN TO TOP


Directories

Selected E-Resources

Anthropology Resources on the Internet
Links to anthropological news sources, university departments, research institutions, museums, and web directories. Search for sites by region or topic.

ArchNet
A large metasite linking to hundreds of online directories and websites related to archaeology. Browse websites by topic, region, institution, and more.

CyberPursuits - Anthropology
Contains pages dedicated to links for cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, linguistics, ethnomusicology, film & photography, museums, libraries, and more.

Ethnographic Resources
This metasite from the Library of Congress includes links to general sources, directories, scholarly programs, archives, museums, journals, societies, and much more.

International Directory of Primatology
"Formerly known as The World Directory of Primatologists (WDP), the People section of the International Directory of Primatology provides contact information for individuals involved in all aspects of the field of primatology."

NAPA Directory of Practicing Anthropologists
A listing of members of the National Association for the Practice of Anthropology. Includes names, addresses, employment, geographic specialization, and area of expertise.

UK Archaeologists' Email Directory
From the Council for British Archaeology, this directory includes professional anthropologists, postgraduate students, as well as related organization contact information.

Voice of the Shuttle: Anthropology
From the University of California-Santa Barbara, the Voice of the Shuttle is a comprehensive, well organized meta-site for all of the humanities. The Anthropology section contains links to general resources, projects, syllabi, departments, listservs, and conferences.

Voice of the Shuttle: Archaeology
The archaeology section of the Voice of the Shuttle metasite.

Worldwide Email Directory of Anthropologists
WEDA provides "a searchable database of address and research information about anthropologists from around the world."

Selected Print Resources

Directory of Practicing Anthropologists
Davis Library GN20.A4a (1981)

Fifth International Directory of Anthropologists
Davis Library GN20.I5 1975

Population Anthropology: An International Directory of Contributors and Their Works
Davis Library GN33.5.N33 1978

Biographical directory of anthropologists born before 1920
Davis Library Z5111.B56 1988

RETURN TO TOP


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/anthropology/reference.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, January 06, 2010.