
Find Info About...
Contact 
Pam Sessoms
Electronic Reference Services Librarian
pam_sessoms@unc.edu
919-962-1151
Davis Reference Desk
(919) 962-1151
AIM: DavisRefDesk
Davis Chat
Selected Websites 
American Anthropological Association Style Manual
A guide to the basic style rules of AAA style.
Anthropologist Biography Web
"This biography web has been developed by the anthropology students at Minnesota State University, Mankato as a part of our EMuseum. We strive to produce brief descriptions of anthropologists and other scientists that have direct influence on the discipline of anthropology."
Anthropology Field Study
Provides information on planning, proposal writing, prep work, field methods, writing field notes and field reports, and contains a bibliography, glossary, and links to other relevant sites.
Anthropology Resources on the Internet
Links to anthropological news sources, university departments, research institutions, museums, and web directories. Search for sites by region or topic.
Anthropology Tutorials
Provides online tutorials for physical and cultural anthropology.
Archaeological Parks in the U.S.
Search for archaeological parks by region or by state. Includes links to park websites for further information.
ArchNet
A large metasite linking to hundreds of online directories and websites related to archaeology. Browse websites by topic, region, institution, and more.
Ethnographic Resources
This metasite from the Library of Congress includes links to general sources, directories, scholarly programs, archives, museums, journals, societies, and much more.
Feminist Anthropology
Offers an overview of the history and theory of feminist anthropology and includes a substantial bibliography of relevant sources.
Handbook on Ethical Issues in Anthropology
"Edited by Joan Cassell and Sue-Ellen Jacobs. A special publication of the American Anthropological Association."
Institute of Human Origins
Includes news, book reviews, a glossary, bibliography, links to other websites, an interactive "learning center," and a documentary on human evolution.
International Directory of Primatology
"Formerly known as The World Directory of Primatologists (WDP), the People section of the International Directory of Primatology provides contact information for individuals involved in all aspects of the field of primatology."
NAPA Directory of Practicing Anthropologists
A listing of members of the National Association for the Practice of Anthropology. Includes names, addresses, employment, geographic specialization, and area of expertise.
Sociocultural Theory in Anthropology
"Sociocultural anthropology has been through dramatic changes in the last 30 years. As part of their work in the Indiana University Anthropology Department's "Proseminar in Sociocultural Anthropology" students have compiled webpages covering subdisciplines within the field, important organizations and associations, changes in anthropological perspectives over time, and prominent theorists. All are valuable resources for beginning and advanced students in sociocultural anthropology."
UK Archaeologists' Email Directory
From the Council for British Archaeology, this directory includes professional anthropologists, postgraduate students, as well as related organization contact information.
Visual Anthropology
A clearinghouse of information for those involved in the field of visual anthropology. Includes news, information on conferences, announcements about new books and journal articles, an online newsletter, and much more.
Voice of the Shuttle: Anthropology
From the University of California-Santa Barbara, the Voice of the Shuttle is a comprehensive, well organized metasite for all of the humanities. The Anthropology section contains links to general resources, projects, syllabi, departments, listservs, and conferences.
Voice of the Shuttle: Archaeology
The archaeology section of the Voice of the Shuttle metasite.
Worldwide Email Directory of Anthropologists
WEDA provides "a searchable database of address and research information about anthropologists from around the world."
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/anthropology/websites.html
This page was last updated Thursday, November 13, 2008.

