On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Placeholder image

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Josh Hockensmith
Art Library Assistant
hockensm@email.unc.edu
919-962-2397

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Selected Journals and Article Resources 

Article Database

Art Full Text
A core database for art and art historical research. Art Full Text indexes and offers full text for a wide array of journals in the fields of art history, architecture, craft, design, landscape architecture, museology, photography and video, and much more.

Art Full Text indexes several major artists' book journals, including Bonefolder, Journal of Artists' Books, and Umbrella. [more info]


Selected Journals

Journal of Artists' Books
"The Journal of Artists' Books provides a platform for both theoretical and creative expression. As a forum for the study of artists' books, JAB publishes critical and theoretical articles, reviews of artists' books and exhibitions, and commentary on conferences and and other book art-related activities. JAB also regularly showcases creative work in the form of artists' statements and artist-designed pages and covers."
(from the JAB web site)

The print edition -- which often features letter-press printed covers and supplemental artworks -- is also available in the Sloane Art Library's periodicals collection.

The Bonefolder
"The Bonefolder, an outgrowth of the Book Arts Web, is a peer-reviewed "open-access" e-journal for bookbinding and the book arts. Since fall of 2004, The Bonefolder has reached a global audience and contributed to the body of knowledge in the book arts both theoretically and practically."
(from the journal's web site)

Umbrella (up to 2005 publicly available)
Umbrella is another of the very few journals that deal specifically with book arts. It features interviews, essays, book reviews, and news about events and exhibits.

A number of more general art journals occasionally feature articles on artists' books, including Art on Paper, Printmaking Today, Afterimage, and many others. Most of these journals are indexed in Art Full Text, so searching that database can be the best way to find articles from a broader range of sources.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/artistsbooks/journals.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, January 06, 2010.