
Ask us 
Tommy Nixon
Humanities Librarian
Davis Library Reference
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151
Jacqueline Solis
Humanities Librarian
Davis Library Reference
jsolis@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151
More help 
Introduction to Library Research
Citing 
E-tools 
Many of these sources will require the book's publication date -- be sure to provide the first date of publication rather than the dates of later editions. Consider searching subject-specific databases for reviews of books that fall within particular subject areas.
Academic Search Premier
Features full-text articles from over 4,000 journals and abstracts from over 8,200 scholarly journals.
Includes coverage of The Wall Street Journal, New York Times Book Review and
The Christian Science Monitor.
Coverage: 1975-present
Select "Book review" as "Document Type"
[more info]
LexisNexis Academic
Includes full-text news, business, and legal information. Coverage: 1980-present
Click on the Tab for "News". Under "Select Sources," select
"Book, Movie, Music & Play Reviews."
[more info]
Academic OneFile
Provides full-text articles and references from more than 8,000 journals and magazines. Coverage: 1980-present
Add "and book review" to your searches for titles, authors or keywords
[more info]
New York Times Historical Newspaper
Offers over 3 million pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles, including New York Times Book Review
Coverage: 1851-recent past.
For more current issues of the New York Times Book Review, search LexisNexis [more info]
Times Literary Supplement(TLS) Centenary Archive
This database covers the complete edition of the Times Literary Supplement (TLS) from 1902-1990. It includes more than 250,000 reviews.
[more info]
Times (London) Digital Archive
Times Digital Archive provides full-image coverage of the 'world's newspaper of record' for a period of 200 years, covering events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War, from early industrialization to the information age. Coverage: 1785-1985
For more current issues of the London Times, search LexisNexis
[more info]
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Provides references from over 500 popular periodicals and magazines (primarily U.S.). Coverage: 1890-1982
Select "Book review" under "Document Type"
[more info]
Periodicals Index Online
Provides references from over 4,700 U.S. and international academic journals. Coverage: 1665-1995
Add "and book review" to your searches for titles, authors or keywords
[more info]
Book Review Digest Retrospective
Book Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.
1983-current can be viewed electronically either in Academic Search Premier or Expanded Academic ASAP.
[more info]
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
Provides
references from major nineteenth-century American and British periodicals. Some full-text. Coverage: 1802-1907
Add "and book review"
to your searches for titles, authors or keywords [more info]
Off-campus access available only to UNC-Chapel Hill faculty, students, and staff
More article databases | How do I find articles? | How do I find an article if it's not full-text?
Finding Books 
Search the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries' Catalog
Websites 
H-Net Reviews offers reviews of academic books by scholars and researchers.
Amazon includes reviews from Choice, Library Journal, and New York Times Book Review.
Metacritic provides film, DVD, and book reviews.
Print Indexes 
If you can't find a review of your book online, you can come into the first floor Davis and look in some of the indexes we have.
Book Review Digest
Indispensable for locating reviews. Coverage: 1905-current.
Davis Library Reference Row 2
Call number: Z1219 .C96
Book Review Index
Best for locating reviews of academic works.
Davis Library Reference Row 2
Call number: Z1035.A1 B6
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974
Davis Library Reference Row 2
Call number: Z1035.A1 C658
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974
Davis Library Reference Row 2
Call number: Z1035.A1 C66
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/book_reviews/
This page was last updated Tuesday, November 18, 2008.


