On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
flower image

Menu  

Contact  question icon

David Romito
Biology Librarian
dromito@email.unc.edu
919-962-2264

Chat with a Librarian

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Introduction

This guide is a highly selective list of materials available for the study of botanical illustration. Its contents are based on the materials available at the Couch Biology Library and the Sloane Art Library on the campus of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.


Reference Materials

Plant, Animal and Anatomical Illustration in Art & Science: a Bibliographical Guide from the Sixteenth Century to the Present Day compiled by Gavin D.R. Bridson and James J. White
This book is organized in three main sections, as reflected in its title: representations of plants, animals, and anatomy. Within each section, one can find citations to primary literature about illustration methods, secondary literature on history and criticism, a history of specific plants as represented in art, and literature on illustrative photography and artist biographies.
This online dictionary provides general articles on all aspects of art, and is a good starting place for finding information on a technique, artist, or period.


Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols by Gertrude Jobes
This dictionary provides brief synopses of symbols used throughout history, including information on mythical properties attributed to plants.


A Dictionary of Flower, Fruit and Still Life Painters by Sydney Herbert Pavière
This dictionary is organized chronologically by volume, and alphabetically by artist within the volumes. It provides information about birth/death dates, the artists' school, a brief biographical sketch, notable collections housing his/her work, and important exhibitions. A bibliography of sources about each artist is also included.


Great Flower Books 1700-1900: A Bibliographic Record of Two Centuries of Finely-Illustrated Flower Books by Sacheverell Sitwell and Wilfrid Blunt
This book is an annotated bibliography of selected works of botanical illustration. It is organized alphabetically by author name, listing the name of the work, the number of plates within the work, and journal citations that point the reader to more information about the entry. Great Flower Books 1700-1900 also includes a thorough introduction and overview of the history of botanical illustration.


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/botanical_illustration/index.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, June 21, 2011.