
Menu
Locating Materials
Instruction for locating East Asian materials
Contact 
Hsi-chu Bolick
East Asian Bibliographer
Email
(919)962-1278
Davis Chat
Interlibrary Loan 
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
The Writing Center
Having trouble writing your paper? Get help at The Writing Center.
Citing 
Search for Books 
- Use keyword in Chinese or in English
- Use advanced search for specific type/format of books
- You may want to try searching for subjects in the library catalog, such as:
-
Chinese literature
Chinese history
Chinese culture
Anchient China
Note: LC Call Number System | How Do I Read a Call Number? | Davis Library Building Locations | Campus Libraries Map
Free ebooks: (selected)
Article Database 
UNC affiliated users only
Chinese databases
- China Academic Journals - Social Science and Humanities (中国学术期刊网)
CAJ consists of 1700 journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering the fields of literature, history, philosophy, economics, politics, law, and education. [more info] - Duxiu Knowledge Search (读秀)
The Duxiu database provides access to more than 3 million Chinese bibliographic entries and 2 million full text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, such as books, journal articles, conference papers and video clips.. [more info] - More (*title starts with China)
English databases
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS On-line)
The online BAS contains the full data of all printed editions of the BAS issued from 1971 up to the1991 edition (published 1997), as well as thousands of entries compiled since. [more info] - JSTOR
JSTOR provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. A moving end-date wall excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals. [more info] - Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to the full text of more than 40 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics published by The Johns Hopkins University Press. [more info] - Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). [more info] - *More databases
Free full-text journal articles
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in all subjects and many languages. [more info]
Internet Archive
Searches the full text of books digitized by Project Gutenberg and by various libraries around the world. It provides online access to the full text of public domain and out-of-copyright books reproduced either from the texts produced by libraries, other organizations, or individuals.
East Asian Gateway Services 
In US, you can use Gateway Services, a free delivery service for full-text Chinese language academic publications held by libraries in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Japan. Use the following indexes for articles:
Theses & Dissertations Database 
UNC:
National Institute of Educational Resources and Research (教育論文全文索引)
HKLIS Dissertations and Theses Collections (香港博士論文數據庫)
Indexes to Journal Articles in East Asia 
CQVIP Chinese Scientific Journals Fulltext Database (维普网)
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/chinaresources/index.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, November 30, 2011.




Articles+