On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner

Find Info About...  

Contact question icon

Tommy Nixon
Liaison for Classics, Dramatic Arts, & English/Comparative Literature

tommy_nixon@unc.edu
919.962.1151

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

IM us computer icon

davis IM sticker

L.C. Call Nos.

This Library of Congress classification system holds true for any library in the world using the LC system. For example, Romance language dictionaries will always be classed in the PCs, while English language dictionaries will always be classed in the PEs. General literature will be in the PNs, Romance language literartures in the PQs, British literature in the PRs & American literature in the PSs.

Map of Davis Reference

Use this Map to find books in Davis Reference.

Call No. Locations in Davis

Use this Location Guide to find books in Davis.

About This Subject Guide

This is a highly selective guide and does not attempt to be inclusive of literary reference sources for individual national literatures. For fuller coverage of national literatures, consult either Harner or Thompson's literary research guides.
Guide Conventions: Where a reference title is hyperlinked, it indicates an electronic version of the text is available. If the call number & location are hyperlinked, this indicates a link to the catalog record for the printed text.
See Subject Guides/Literature for additional literary guides.

FEATURED RESOURCES

computer icon  E-RESOURCES  (Off-campus access to some e-resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.)

Indexes for finding Literary Criticism: For tips on searching ABELL & MLA (below), see the MLA - ABELL Search Guide.

MLA International Bibliography
A major index of literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. In addition to indexing several thousand journals, MLA also covers relevant books, book chapters, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLA is a very ambitious index, providing indexing of criticism for all literatures worldwide, except for classical Greek and Latin literature. For classical literature and philology, search L'Annee Philologique.
MLA now links to full-text articles in JSTOR and Project Muse, two major full-text journal collections.

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
ABELL is the British counterpart to MLA and is a very important complement to MLA for English language literatures. Unlike MLA, ABELL does index reviews of scholarly books. It is possible to search both MLA & ABELL as a "combined search."

Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center is a good starting point for author biographies, plot summaries, & selected literary criticism. The indexing of literary criticism is much more limited than in either MLA or ABELL. Use "Advanced Search" for more options.

book iconFEATURED PRINT RESOURCES

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism. Edited by Michael Groden, Martin Kreiswirth, and Imre Szeman. 2nd ed. Baltimore, Md. : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2005.
An important guide to theoretical movements, terminology, & literary theorists.
Davis Reference Desk & Undergraduate Library Reference PN81 .J554 2005

Search for Books book image

Search the Catalog

   

Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

Carolina BLU Campus Delivery Service BLU Logo

Through the Carolina BLU Delivery Service, you can request to have books and articles available at any of the UNC-CH campus libraries, as well as books and articles requested through interlibrary loan, delivered to the campus library most convenient to you.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/complit/index.html
This page was last updated Monday, July 25, 2011.