Liaison for Classics, Dramatic Art, & English/Comparative Literature
Still Can't Find It?
Contact a librarian for help or chat with us now.
The purpose of this guide is to orient you to searching for dissertations and theses using the library's resources
and to help you find dissertations, theses, master's papers, and undergraduate honors theses created at UNC, as well as
dissertations and theses created elsewhere.
Due to uneven coverage in the catalog and databases, as well as multiple possible library locations for these items, searching for dissertations and theses can be complicated. If you find yourself stuck, or if you just want to talk to a librarian about your search, please Contact Us. You can also use the chat widget located in the left column of this guide.
- Dissertation - Presents original research and is written as part of the requirements for obtaining a doctorate.
- Thesis - Presents original research and is written as part of the requirements for obtaining a master's degree.
- Master's Paper - Some master's programs at UNC do not have an official "thesis" but rather require a major paper or report.
- Undergraduate Honors Thesis - Written and defended by Honors Carolina undergraduate students in order to graduate with Honors or Highest Honors.
Searching for Theses and Dissertations
- Dissertation & Theses — A good place to begin a search for dissertations and theses. It indexes dissertations, including those completed at UNC. Coverage varies by university, and full-text is available from 1997 to present. Although it does index theses, the coverage is not nearly as comprehensive.
- Dissertation & Theses @ University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill — Only indexes theses and dissertations completed at UNC Chapel Hill. It indexes Chapel Hill dissertations from the 1920's on, with full text from 1997 on. It also indexes some theses from 1966 on, with full text from 2006 on for selected masters' theses. Indexing of UNC-CH dissertations is selective, especially for the earlier years.
- UNC Library — Full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically.
There are also 2 published lists of UNC Chapel Hill theses and dissertations covering up to 1960, both arranged by department, type of degree, and year, with author indexes: