On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Alaska Earthquake of 1964

Menu

Contact  question icon

Miriam Kennard
Geological Sciences Librarian
kennard@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0681

Chat with us

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Geology Library

Citing Films

Writing and Citing - Refworks and Citation Builder

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Introduction

This guide presents selected resources related to earthquakes. To find additional material, search the library catalog using common keywords like earthquakes, seismology, or plate tectonics. You can also browse the UNC Libraries' collection by looking in the QE 531 - QE 541 call number range.

Reference Sources

Access Science
An online encyclopedia of science that also includes news, images, and study guides.

Encyclopedia of earthquakes and volcanoes - Gates, A. E., & Ritchie, D.
Provides information on earthquakes in various regions of the world, major quakes throughout history, and geologic and scientific terms.

International handbook of earthquake and engineering seismology - Lee, W. H. K., et al. (eds.)
A two-volume reference summarizing the current knowledge about earthquake and engineering seismology as a whole, by contributors from around the world.

Today's Science
Science in the headlines, suggestions for research topics, and more resources geared toward students.

Books

Earthquakes - Bolt, B. A.
A richly illustrated introduction to seismology that also includes a look back at the San Francisco earthquake of 1906.

The geology of earthquakes - Yeats, R. S., Sieh, K., & Allen, C. R.
Purposes, methods, and principles of the geological investigation of earthquakes. Draws upon examples from many seismically active regions of the globe, including China, Japan, the Mediterranean countries, the U.S., and New Zealand.

Introduction to seismology - Shearer, P. M.
An approachable and concise introduction to the fundamental concepts of seismic theory, designed as a first course for undergraduate students.

When the earth moves: Rogue earthquakes, tremors, and aftershocks - Barnes-Svarney, P.
Explores the basics of earthquakes, examines those that occurred in unusual locations, includes eyewitness accounts of the destructive shocks, and suggests ways of preparing for a quake.

Websites

Earthquake Hazards Program

Earthquake Information by Country

Earthquake Information by State

Earthquake Summary Posters

Earthquake Topics

Geology.com

IRIS (Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology)

Latest Earthquakes in the U.S.

Latest Earthquakes in the World

NEIC (National Earthquake Information Center)

Recent Earthquakes Teachable Moments

Seismic Monitor

Southern California Earthquake Center

Virtual Courseware: Earthquake

Videos

The Great San Francisco Earthquake
A segment of PBS' American Experience series, this program features the accounts of those who lived in San Francisco before and after it was destroyed by a devastating earthquake and fire in April 1906. Archival footage and rare photos show the traumatic event that killed and left homeless thousands of people. The rebirth of the city was complete by 1915, when the city hosted a World's Fair to celebrate the completion of the Panama Canal.

Killer Quake!
Metropolitan Los Angeles is sitting on ground zero, and even as Southern California struggles to repair itself from the tragedy at Northridge, seismic pressure continues to build below the ground. NOVA examines whether we can learn enough about these geological mysteries in time to minimize widespread destruction.

Databases

GeoRef
GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences, providing access to worldwide geological literature. It covers the geology of North America from 1669 to present and the rest of the world from 1933 to present. GeoRef indexes articles from more than 3,000 journals in 40 languages as well as books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. It also includes references to publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

GeoBase
GEOBASE covers worldwide literature on geology, geography, ecology, and related disciplines. Over 2,000 journals are fully covered, and an additional 3,000 are selectively covered. More than 2,000 books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports are also covered.

Journals

Bulletin of Earthquake Engineering
Bulletin of the Seismological Society of America
Earth Magazine
Earthquakes & Volcanoes
Earthquake Engineering & Structural Dynamics
Geotectonics
Journal of Earthquake Engineering (JEE)
Journal of Seismology
Seismological Research Letters
Soil Dynamics and Earthquake Engineering
Tectonics
Tectonophysics

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/earthquakes/
This page was last updated Wednesday, March 28, 2012.