On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Money

Menu  


Contact  question icon

Rita W. Moss
Business/Economics Librarian
moss@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Selected Statistical Sources available from the Library  article icon


China Data Online
China Data Online provides users with a wealth of statistics about contemporary China, focusing on economic and demographic statistics. Data from national, provincial, county, and city levels can be accessed, on a monthly and/or yearly basis.

DataStream International
An online service that provides international economic and financial data in time series format. Series are acquired from national governments and banks, the Federal Reserve, the International Monetary Fund, OECD, the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and other international agencies. Additional features include commodity prices, debt and equity information, exchange rates, interest rates, stock market indices, futures, options, and much more.

GMID (Global Market Information Database)
GMID contains 1M + demographic, economic and marketing statistics for more than 200 countries. The historic and forecast data enable you analyze trends from 1977-2016. Unique country rankings help you to gauge one country's position in the world relative to another.

International Financial Statistics
International Financial Statistics is the standard source of international and country statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. For most countries of the world, IFS Online provides current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.

IHS Global Insight
Provides regional, national, and global economic, financial, and commodity information. Country and Sovereign risk analysis sections include customizable risk analysis tools. Economic and Financial dataset includes historical data for some variables as far back as the 1960's, and long-term forecasts to 2040.

International Country Risk Guide CountryData
CountryData provides access to the data underlying the International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) publication. It includes monthly averages of political risk and economic indicators; Coplin-O'Leary ratings and forecasts; and some general geographic and political information for 145 countries from 1984 to present. Dates of coverage for individual countries vary.

Statista
With Statista, you can access the most relevant and important statistics and studies gathered by market researcher. Statista has more public data than any other statistical resource on the web and grows at an average rate of 500 new stats per day.
The platform can generate customizable graphs in multiple formats from any search results set, that then integrate with presentation and reporting applications such as PowerPoint and Excel.

WDI Online
Major source for data on the global economy, offering statistics on over 550 development indicators from over 200 countries. The data from WDI Online cover national economies, population, natural resources, financial matters, environmental variables, and much more, from 1960 to date.

More Statistical Sources available from the Library  article icon

Compustat
Compustat provides the annual and quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on most publicly held companies, along with information on aggregates, industry segments, banks, market prices, dividends, and earnings.

Execucomp
Execucomp tracks executive compensation in S&P 1000 firms. Top executives' salary, bonus, and stock option data since 1992 is available. The database also has company-specific financial statement information to supplement the compensation data.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
This database contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.

ICPSR Direct
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world’s largest archive of computer readable social science data. ICPSR provides Web access to data files and documentation for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. The ICPSR data holdings contain some 6,300 studies and 500,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Individual registration and adherence to responsible use statement are required.

KLD Stats
KLD Stats contains coverage of the 3000 largest U.S. publicly traded companies by market capitalization and for those companies provides a snapshot of corporate social responsibility ratings over the course of 17 years. Statistical data includes 90+ social and environmental indicators.

OECD iLibrary
Online Library of Statistical Databases, eBooks, Periodicals, and Working Papers from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

United Nations Comtrade
United Nations Comtrade provides detailed, annual export and import statistics reported by almost 200 countries and areas, from 1962 to date in some cases. It contains over one billion records Data is reported by individual countries and then standardized by the United Nations Statistics Division.

Data Services
Davis Library's Data Services page helps researchers identify, evaluate, and access numeric data.

More Economics Databases |  How Do I Find Articles? | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text?  | How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/economics/statistics.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, January 24, 2012.