
Menu
Contact 
Rita W. Moss
Business/Economics Librarian
moss@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151
Davis Chat
IM us 
Interlibrary Loan 
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Selected Statistical Websites 
Data Services at Davis Reference
Davis Library's Data Services page helps researchers identify, evaluate, and access numeric data.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Economic Census
The Economic Census profiles American business every 5 years, from the national to the local level.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA prepares national, regional, industry, and international data that presents essential information on economic growth, regional economic development, interindustry relationships, and the United States' position in the world economy.
One excellent source of information provided is the Regional Economic Information System 1969-2008. This contains personal income estimates. It is available on the
web
but is also on CD (Davis Library). This may be easier to use for large downloads and manipulation.
FRED
FRED monitors the economic and financial literature and produces research in the areas of money and banking, macroeconomics, and international and regional economics.
ALFRED
ALFRED allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time.
Economagic.com
Economagic contains more than 200,000 time series for which data and custom charts can be retrieved. The majority of the data is USA data. The core data sets involve US macroeconomic data (that is, for the whole US), but the bulk of the data is employment data by local area - state, county, MSA, and many cities and towns.
National Bureau of Economic Statistics
The National Bureau of Economic Statistics (NBER) contains select data sets for industry, individuals, international trade, hospitals and demographics.
Penn World Tables
The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004.
OFFSTATS
The OFFSTATS database provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web. Web links are arranged by country, region or subject. The database can be searched by a single category, or a combination of categories.
UN Statistical Databases
The UN Statistical Database provides a global centre for data on international trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment, transport and demographic and social statistics gathered from many national and international sources.
UNdata wiki
The UNdata wiki is a component of UNdata which gives information about each of UNdata's sources and also includes links to the sources' home pages and databases, contact links, descriptions of the methodology used, and glossaries of terms, when available.
More Statistics Websites | How Do I Find Articles? | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text? | How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/economics/statistics_web.html
This page was last updated Monday, August 22, 2011.


