Find Info About...
Contact 
Tommy Nixon
Humanities Reference Librarian
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151
Chat with us
Citing 
Writing and Citing - RefWorks and Citation Builder
Interlibrary Loan 
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Basic Movie Information
Because most reviews of a particular film are published immediately after the film is first released, you will want to know the initial release date. The resources below will give you the release date and also provide additional information on the film.
Web Resources
-
Media Resources Center (MRC) Filmfinder.
The UNC Library's Media Resources Center Filmography Search. Search the Center's extensive film collection by title, release dates, director, genre, country of origin, or by words in the descriptions provided for the films. -
The Internet Movie Database.
The premier Web site for film information, with reviews, comments, and ratings supplied by volunteers. -
The AllMovie Guide.
A searchable directory of movies, with browsing by genre, country, and time period. Provides plot synopses and signed reviews. -
The Greatest Films.
Links to dozens of sites with lists of "best" films, such as "100 Greatest Films" or "Greatest Directors of All Time."
Print Resources
-
Halliwell's Film and Video Guide. New York, NY: HarperPerennial.
(Davis Reference Desk PN1993.45.H27; 2003 edition only, earlier volumes in Davis Stacks.) A standard handbook, alphabetical by film titles, giving a brief list of casts and directors, a short plot summary, and a rating. -
Halliwell's Who's Who in the Movies. New York: HarperPerennial.
(Davis Reference Desk PN1993.45.H32; 2006 edition only, earlier volumes in Davis Stacks.) A dictionary of actors and actresses, directors, producers, and writers. -
The Motion Picture Guide. Chicago: Cinebooks.
(Davis Reference PN1993.M4334. Also in the Undergraduate Library.) An encyclopedia with detailed production information, plot, and often lengthy critical comments.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/filmreviews/
This page was last updated Monday, January 12, 2009.

