Find Info About...
Contact 
Tommy Nixon
Humanities Reference Librarian
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151
Chat with us
Citing 
Writing and Citing - RefWorks and Citation Builder
Interlibrary Loan 
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Indexes to Reviews
Online Databases
-
Film & Television Literature Index.
Dates of coverage vary, mostly after 1980. Provides access to more than 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half of the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Some full text is available. -
Film Index International.
Covers from 1900 and updated annually. Indexes a large number of critical film publications, mass market reviewing sources, and press releases. Produced by the British Film Institute. An excellent source.
Print Resources
-
Film Review Index. Ed. by Patricia King Hanson and Stephen L. Hanson. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1986-1987.
(Davis Reference Row 17 Z5784.M9 F513 1986) In two volumes: v. 1, 1882-1949; v.2, 1950-1985
A wonderful time saver. Alphabetical by film titles. Included for each film are lists of reviews appearing in major mass-market publications, specialized film publications, and books. -
International Index to Film Periodicals. New York. St. Martin's Press.
(Davis Reference Row 17 Z5784.M9 I49) Volumes for 1972 to 2006 prepared by the International Federation of Film Archives.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/filmreviews/indexes_to_reviews.html
This page was last updated Monday, January 12, 2009.

