On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Films picture

Find Info About...

Contact  question icon

Tommy Nixon
Humanities Reference Librarian
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Chat with us

Chat requires JavaScript.

Citing Films

Writing and Citing - RefWorks and Citation Builder

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

More Online Library Resources

New York Times Historical Newspaper.
Includes reviews from 1851 to the most recent four or five years. Also includes reviews reprinted in the The New York Times Film Reviews set and any other film-related article, interview, etc., in the paper.

Times (London) Digital Archive.
Times Digital Archive (1785 to 1985) provides access to full-image coverage of the 'world's newspaper of record'. This archive is particularly helpful in finding foreign reviews. Search for film reviews by entering the film title and the word "film" as keywords (e.g., Casino Royale and film) and limit to Reviews (under Arts and Entertainment).

Reader's Guide Retrospective.
Covers 1890 to 1982 with indexing of more than 500 popular periodicals and magazines. Can be updated with the four databases below.

Academic Search Premier.
Interdisciplinary database covering 1975 to date with access to more than 8,300 popular and scholarly journals of which more than 4,500 are full text. Search for movie title words as "Reviews and Products" (e.g., Godfather), and select "Document Type" as Entertainment Review.

MasterFILE Premier.
Covers 1975 to date with access to more than 2,600 periodicals, of which more than 1,750 are full text. Search title as "Subject Terms" (e.g., assassination tango) and select "Document Type" as Entertainment Review.

Academic OneFile.
Covers 1975 to date with nearly 12,000 popular and scholarly journals in all fields, of which about 4,500 are full text. Overlaps with the two databases above. Search for movie title as "Named Work" (e.g., Sideways) and "movie review" as "Keyword" (default search).

LexisNexis Academic.
Dates of coverage vary, mostly after 1980. A massive, full-text database heavy on news, business, and legal information. Click the Sources tab, open the News folder, then check the box next to Book, Movie, Music, Play, and Video Reviews.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/filmreviews/other_film_resources.html
This page was last updated Monday, January 12, 2009.