On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Pile of notebooks, by Caryn at Flickr.com

Navigationmap icon

Contact Us question icon

Chat requires JavaScript.

Or set up a research consultation with:
Amanda Henley
GIS Services librarian
ahenley@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

New Geography Resources book image

These titles have "geography" as a subject term and were added in the last week:

Human biogeography

The Routledge handbook of tourism geographies

Natures tropicales : enjeux actuels et perspectives. XIIes journées de géographie tropicale du comité national français de géographie, commission de géographie des espaces tropicaux et de leur développement, commission de géographie physique, ADES-université Michel de Montaigne-Bordeaux-CNRS Bordeaux, 16-18 novembre 2008

L'usage de l'île

L'Information géographique [serial].

The Spanish colonial settlement landscapes of New Mexico, 1598-1680

Click here for a broader search - (geography as a key word)

Services Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries? You can request it from another library through Interlibrary Loan.

Request books for campus delivery, recall checked out books, request books from storage, and request articles for delivery with the Carolina BLU Campus Delivery Service.

Selected Article Databasespaper icon

Academic OneFile
Contains academic, trade, and general-interest journals and articles, covering all subjects. Also includes the New York Times back to 1995 and hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC. [more info]

Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database covering popular and scholarly journal articles of a wide range of academic areas. [more info]

Dissertations & Theses
Indexes US dissertations from 1861 to as recent as last semester with full text available from 1997 on. Masters’ theses are covered more selectively and some full text is available. [more info]

Geobase
Covers worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology, and related disciplines. (Search Tip: Combine the term "literature review" with keywords describing your topic in the "Search For:" box. For example, "remote sensing and literature review." Also try selecting "Review" from the "Content Type Phrase" drop-down box.) [more info]

International Bibliogaphy of the Social Sciences
Indexes books and journals in Anthropology, Economics, Political Science, and Sociology. [more info]

ISI Citation Databases (Web of Science)
Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) provides access to several multidisciplinary article citation databases. (Search Tip: Enter your search terms and select the Citation Databases and dates you wish to search. Click "Search." Under "Refine Results," choose "Review" under "Document Types." Advanced Search Examples) [more info] 
Receive email alerts when articles relevant to your research are published.
1. Create an Account  2. Search History Alerts 

JSTOR
Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. [more info]

Google Scholar logo

How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text?

Selected Electronic Journalspaper icon

Note: This is a list of electronic journals. To find print journals, use the library catalog advanced search. Select "Journals, Magazines, and Serials" from the "Format" pull-down menu and then search by "Keywords" or by "Words in Journal Title."

Annals of the Association of American Geographers
The journal of the Association of American Geographers contains research articles and book reviews for all fields of geography.

Applied Geography
Journal devoted to problems related to the assessment, management and allocation of the world's physical and/or human resources.

Economic Geography
International journal publishing research that makes theoretical advances to the discipline of economic geography.

Environment and Planning
The Environment and Planning family of journals are concerned with all aspects of the evolution of space and spatial arrangement, from the environment and nature through planning and policy to theory and design.

Environment and Planning A concentrates on spatial organization and restructuring of cities and regions.

Environment and Planning B: Planning and Design covers the area of method application and spatial problems in built environments, with specialization in new approaches to generating and evaluating plans and policies.

Environment and Planning C: Government and Policy covers a broad range of policy questions, including those related to non-state agents, private-public collaboration, and nongovernmental organizations.

Environment and Planning D: Society and Space covers the mutually constitutive relation between the social and the spatial, the spatial aspects of political action, and the abstractions of social theory.

Journal of Geography
Provides a forum for educators and scholars discussing instructional approaches, research, lesson plans and teaching activities, and reviews.

Journal of Economic Geography
Provides research articles, discussion, and book reviews in the field of economic geography (broadly defined).

Journal of Land Use Science
Covers topics in agriculture, anthropology, ecology, economics, forestry, geography, GIS, landscape ecology, planning, regional science, remote sensing, and sustainability science.

Professional Geographer
A journal of the Association of American Geographers that publishes articles of academic and applied geography and book reviews.

Progress in Human Geography
Journal dedicated to publishing review papers that present the state-of-the-art in research across all the major fields of human geography.

Progress in Physical Geography
International journal that publishes review articles on work in the natural and environmental sciences including solid, fluid and living environments, as well as human-environment interactions.

Transactions
This journal is from the Institute of British Geographers and covers human and physical geography.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/geography/index.html
This page was last updated July 16, 2010.