On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Recorte de Blankets, de Craig Thompson

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Bibliographies

Graphic novels: a bibliographic guide to book-length comics via NetLibrary. Also available in print PN6714 .R68 1995 DAVIS REF
"Entries are organized by subjects, such as action, classics, fantasy, fiction, horror, nonfiction, and super heroes; provide plot synopses; and evaluate graphics, characterization, and dialogue."

Oxford Art Online
Includes the Grove Art Online, an encyclopedia of art, with general introductions to a variety of related topics. See the entry for "Comic-strip Art" which has a good bibliography. Grove is also available in print at the Art Library

Comic art of the United States through 2000, animation and cartoons: an international bibliography NC1420 .L46 2005 ART REF
Includes bibliographical references and index.

Crawford's Encyclopedia of comic books PN6725 .C7 c. 2 DAVIS REF and PN6725 .C7 UNDERGRAD
Includes bibliographical references and index.

Cartoonists, works, and characters in the United States through 2005: an international bibliography NC1420 .L458 2006 ART REF
This resource is an unannotated bibliography of international books and articles about cartoonists, comics, and characters of the United States.

The encyclopedia of American comics PN6725 .E64 1990 UNDERGRAD
This resource is arranged alphabetically and contains about 600 entries with information on comic strips and books, the characters, and the artists. There is a 16-page color insert and 117 black and white photos.

Art of the funnies: an aesthetic history.
A serious history and critique of a curiously robust medium, by an unabashed fan whose interest lies in teasing out the elements that make comic strips enduring. Also in print.

Comic art of Africa, Asia, Australia, and Latin America through 2000: an international bibliography NC1325.C3 L458 2004 ART REF

Comic art of Europe through 2000: an international bibliography NC1465 .L46 2003 v.1-2 ART REF

Comic books and comic strips in the United States: an international bibliography. Z5956.C6 L46 1994 DAVIS

Additional Sources

Comics Scholarship Annotated Bibliographies (CSAB)
This website is maintained by Dr. Gene Kannenberg Jr. and contains annotated bibliographies of books about comics and comic strips. The entries are organized by subject categories and includes anthologies, genres, collecting guides, as well as comics-related theses and dissertations.

Comics Reporter's Books About Comics
This list of books about comics is arranged alphabetically with an emphasis on history and criticism.

Who's Who of American Comic Books
This database, compiled by Jerry Bails, includes biographical listings for writers, editors, artists, and publishing groups.

One thousand years of manga PN6790.J3 K6913 2007 DAVIS
Contains chapters on the origins of manga, manga artists, and influences.

Comic art now: the very best in contemporary comic art and illustration PN6710 .S54 2008 Information & Library Science Library.
This volume highlights established artists as well as up and coming artists in the comic art medium.

Grand Comic Book Database
This database hopes to be an easy to use resource that people can contribute to, as well as learn from. The database includes information on creator credits and story details. The database is produced by an organization of hobbyists and is not a commercial endeavor.

Graphic storytelling and visual narrative : principles and practices from the legendary cartoonist PN6710 .E57 2008 DAVIS
This book by Will Eisner covers techniques and themes of authorship.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/graphicnovels/background.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.