On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Recorte de Blankets, de Craig Thompson

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Museums, Libraries, Archives 

Comic Art Collection
Michigan State University Libraries' Comic Art Collection holds over 200,000 items. The focus is on published works and areas of emphasis are U.S. comics, international comics, newspaper strip books, and history and criticism. The webpage inludes an index of the comic collection, the library's collection development policy, and a directory of research libraries with comic collections.

The Graphic Novel Archives
From the website: "The Graphic Novel Archive's mission is to catalog these tomes of sequential art." The database is browsable by a variety of ways including creator credit, publisher, title series, and even universe. The website also offers reviews, previews, and a blog.

Masters of American Comics
This was a major exhibition originally co-organized by two Los Angeles museums: UCLA's Hammer Museum and the Museum of Contemporary Art. The catalog is available at the Art Library and the different museum venues include digital images.

American Pulp Fiction Collection
UNC's Rare Books Collection houses the American Pulp Fiction Collection.

Duke University Special Collections
The Murray (Edwin and Terry) Comic Book Collection includes some online exhibitions, "Comic Book Cultures" and "Early Comic Strips 1898-1916".

The Belgian Comic Strip Center
Located in Brussels, this modern research center has more than 40,000 titles in over 20 languages.

Cartoon Art Museum San Francisco, California
From the website: "The Cartoon Art Museum is committed to fostering and promoting a greater appreciation of cartoon art. This it achieves through collecting, cataloging, preserving and displaying the finest representations of original cartoon art as well as providing innovative educational programs designed to enrich the cultural life of our community." The website contains links to other museums and galleries as well as virtual exhibits.

MoCCA Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art
Located in New York, the museum collects, preserves, studies, educates, and displays comic and cartoon art, and strives to represent every genre of the art, including graphic novels, political illustration, animation, anime, and computer-generated art. The website lists past exhibits as well as current and features some images.

SILS Graphic Novel Collection
The SILS Library located in Manning Hall has a growing one-of-a-kind collection of graphic novels, most available for circulation.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/graphicnovels/collections.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.