On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Recorte de Blankets, de Craig Thompson

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Databases 

AccuNet/AP Photo Archive
1800's-present. A database of approximately 500,000 current and archived photos from the Associated Press's 50 million image print and negative library.

ARTstor
Provides curated collections of art images and associated data for non-commercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. The Charter Collection is made up of over 300,000 images.

CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
Offers rights-cleared, high-quality art images for class projects, art history and studio art programs, course Web sites, lectures, presentations, and research resources.

Image Search Engines, Photosharing, and Commercial Sites 

Artnet
Artnet is an online gallery network for buying, selling, and researching artwork online. With more than 150,000 works by over 25,000 artists from around the globe, artnet includes thousands of full color images. Search, browse alphabetically by artist, or explore galleries focusing on specific genres of art.

Google Image Search
Google Image Search indexes millions of images on the web-it provides a thumbnail of each image as well as the source website for that image. This is another good way to find images easily, though image quality does vary.

Comic Art and Graffix Gallery
This site features a virtual gallery, artist biographies, as well as selling images.

Flickr

A guide to Locating & Citing Images

Digital images can also be found in the online collections featured in the Surveys & Guides and Collections sections of this guide.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/graphicnovels/images.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.