On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Recorte de Blankets, de Craig Thompson

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Surveysbook icon

The Graphic Novel PN6710 .G73 2001 DAVIS
Edited by Jan Baetens, this book is a collection of essays charting trends of violence and trauma in graphic novels as well as contempory graphic novel practices.

The comic book in America : an illustrated history PN6725 .B38 1989 SILS

Comics, comix and graphic novels PN6725 .S32 1996 DAVIS FOLIO and PN6725 .S32 1996 c. 2 UNDERGRAD FOLIO
This comprehensive survey of comic art covers Europe, Britain, USA, Japan and traces the history from comics for kids, through underground "comix" movement, to the graphic novels of today.

This book contains graphic language : comics as literature PN6714 .V47 2007 UNDERGRAD
Edited by Jan Baetens, this book is a collection of essays charting trends of violence and trauma in graphic novels as well as contempory graphic novel practices.

Faster than a speeding bullet: the rise of the graphic novel PN6710 .W45 2003 SILS
This book traces the history of the graphic novel form from newspaper comics, more serious, critically acclaimed works.

Manga! Manga! : the world of Japanese comics PN6790.J3 S3 1986 DAVIS

Japanese visual culture : explorations in the world of manga and anime NC1764.5.J3 J37 2008 ART

The language of comics : word and image NC1355 .L36 2001 ART

History of the comic strip series by by David Kunzle v. 1 The early comic strip PN6710 .K85 v. 1 c. 3 ART
v. 2 The nineteenth century PN6710 .K85 v. 2 ART

History of the comic strip by Pierre Couperie NC1355 .B28513 c. 3 & 4 DAVIS

Comic book culture: fanboys and true believers PN6725 .P87 1999 DAVIS and online through NetLibrary

The great comic book heroes PN4784.C68 F4 c. 3 & 4 DAVIS

Splat, boom, pow! The influence of cartoons in contemporary art N8217.C475 C37 2003 ART

Guidesweb icon

ACRL Comic books and graphic novels: Digital resources for an evolving form of art and literature
This list of resources was published as an article in the February 2005 issue of C&RL News. It provides a range of internet resources that prove to be excellent gateways for more information.

Comic Books, Comic Strips, and Graphic Novels
This webpage is one of Yale University Library's resource guides for Mass Media and Popular Culture. It includes books, online resources, and publisher and distributor information.

Graphic Novels: Resources for Teachers and Librarians
This resource guide is from University at Buffalo Libraries and includes sections on formats, publishers, genres, and internet resources. It was recently updated in July 2008.

NYPL, Comic Books Research Guide
New York Public Library's research guide helps users access information in the collections of the Humanities and Social Sciences Library. Sections include Encyclopedias, Periodicals, Bibliogrpahies and Guides, and History and Criticism.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/graphicnovels/surveys.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.