On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Herbs with mortar and pestle image

Menu  

Contact  question icon

David Romito
Biology Librarian
dromito@email.unc.edu
919-962-2264

Chat with a Librarian

Introduction

This guide presents resources on herbs, rimarily concerning their culture and uses: historical, culinary, and medicinal. Definition: "applies to plants which the leaves, or stems and leaves, are used for food or medicine, or in some way for their scent or flavour" (Oxford English Dictionary).

Reference Materials


New encyclopedia of herbs & their uses by Deni Bown
This encyclopedia is a complete resource for beginning research on herbs. It covers their history, herbs in the wild, usage of herbs (culinary, medicinal, and cosmetic), and growing and designing an herb garden. The last and main part of the book consists of entries arranged alphabetically by genus. Each genus provides information detailing distribution, folklore, research, name derivations, and horticulture. Individual plant entries contain a brief description of species and variants; hardiness ratings; information on the parts of the plant used; properties; and medicinal, culinary, and economic uses.


Herbs: an indexed bibliography, 1971-1980: the scientific literature on selected herbs, and aromatic and medicinal plants of the Temperate Zone by James E. Simon, Alena F. Chadwick, and Lyle E. Craker
This book offers a thorough guide to scientific literature on herbs and aromatic and medicinal plants. It examines literature on the major commercially significant herbs and is divided into three sections: the herbs, subject classifications, and other references. The first part lists the herbs in alphabetical order with a description and a list of references that can be found in part two. The second part contains the bibliography arranged by subject classification in which each entry is placed into one of sixty-three subject areas. This book is the not for the beginner but is a valuable tool for finding scientific literature on a specific herb.


New book of herbs by Jekka McVicar
A great introductory book on herbs. It covers numerous recipes for using herbs in the kitchen and in the home. Chapters include information on growing and using herbs in the home. The last section of the book is a catalog of 100 herbs describing their propagation, maintenance, and harvesting as well as suggestions for culinary, medicinal, and household uses. The catalog features detailed photographs for easy identification, and information of where to find additional information within the other sections of the book. The final section of the book lists other references, such as bibliographies, reports, conferences, symposia, and general references.


Vegetables, herbs & fruit: an illustrated encyclopedia by Matthew Biggs, Jekka McVicar and Bob Flowerdew
This book covers more than herbs but contains an outstanding herb section, covering over two hundred pages. Arranged alphabetically by scientific name, each herb includes an introduction with origins and history; the most useful and recommended varieties; details of cultivation; propagation; growing under glass or in containers; a maintenance calendar, pruning and training (if needed); dealing with pests and diseases; companion planting; harvesting and storing; information and ideas for medicinal and cosmetic uses (e.g. recipes); if the plant is in any way toxic or harmful; and if the plant is of particular ornamental or wildlife value. The book also has a yearly gardening calendar, glossary, further readings, and seed source. It is a very thorough and useful book for finding information on specific herbs, especially pertaining to gardening.


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/herbs/index.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, June 28, 2011.