On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Governors Palace

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Robert Dalton
Subject Librarian for History
rdalton@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Carolina BLU Campus Delivery Service Carolina BLU Logo

Through the Carolina BLU Delivery Service, you can request to have books and articles available at any of the UNC-CH campus libraries, as well as books and articles requested through interlibrary loan, delivered to the campus library most convenient to you.

The Writing Center

Having trouble writing your paper? Get help at The Writing Center.

Writing a History Paper

Citing citing icon

Citing Information Tutorial

Citation builder logo

RefWorks logo

Evidence Explained: Citing History Sources from Artifacts to Cyberspace
Davis Ref Desk D5 .M55 2007

Article Databases  article icon

Off-campus access to some resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.

America, History and Life
An index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. [more info]

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). [more info]

International Medieval Bibliography
This bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c 450-1500) indexes periodicals, books, essay collections, etc. from over 4,000 periodicals and other sources. [more info]

L'Annee Philologique on the Internet
Indexes modern editions of ancient texts, collections of articles, journal articles, articles in collections, dissertations, book reviews, and summaries. [more info]

JSTOR
JSTOR provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. A moving end-date wall excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals. [more info]

Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database features full-text for over 4,000 journals with many dating back to 1975, abstracts and indexing for over 8,200 scholarly journals, and coverage of newspapers. [more info]

Aditional databases covering different regions of the world can also be found at African Studies, Asian Studies, European Studies, Latin American Studies, Middle Eastern/Muslim Civilizations, and Slavic and East European Studies.


More Article Databases |  How Do I Find Articles? | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text?  | How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?


Search for Books book image

Searching for books in the Library's catalog is often best done by either Keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). Start with a Keyword search and identify one or more relevant books. Then look at the LC subject headings given to those titles. You can follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find similar books, or you can use the terms in the subject headings to revise your search strategies. Here are some sample searches.

Keyword Search: Anglicans "American Revolution"
LC Subject Heading:"United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783--Religious aspects."
LC Subject Heading: "Anglican Communion--United States--Clergy--History--18th century."

Keyword Search: mental health law
LC Subject Heading: "Mental health laws--United States."

Keyword Search: Scots colonial North Carolina
LC Subject Heading: "Scots--North Carolina--History."


LC Call Number System | How Do I Read a Call Number? | Davis Library Building Locations | Campus Libraries Map


Search the Catalog

   

Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/history/
This page was last updated Thursday, October 28, 2010.