On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Latin America logo

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Holly Ackerman
Librarian for Latin America and Iberia
holly.ackerman@duke.edu
919.660.5845

Teresa Chapa
Librarian for Latin America and Iberia
tchapa@unc.edu
919.962.3948

Shauna Collier
Sonja Haynes Stone Center Librarian
colliers@email.unc.edu
919.843.5808

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Carolina BLU Campus Delivery Service BLU Logo

Through the Carolina BLU Delivery Service, you can request to have books and articles available at any of the UNC-CH campus libraries, as well as books and articles requested through interlibrary loan, delivered to the campus library most convenient to you.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Balderston, D., Gonzalez, M., & López, A.M. Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures. London; New York: Routledge, 2000.
Duke: Perkins/Bostock Reference, F1406 .E515 2000
UNC: Davis Reference, F1406 .E515 2000

Collier, S., Blakemore, H., & Skidmore, T.E. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. 2nd ed. Cambridge, England; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1992.
Duke: Perkins/Bostock Reference, F1406 .C36 1992
UNC: Davis Reference, House Undergraduate Reference, F1406 .C36 1992

Latin American Historical Dictionaries. Metuchen, NJ: The Scarecrow Press, 1967-
Cataloged by title. Search the library catalogs at Duke or UNC for a list of titles and locations.
For example: Historical Dictionary of Brazil (Duke) or Historical Dictionary of Brazil (UNC)

Núñez, B. Dictionary of Afro-Latin American Civilization. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1980.
Duke: Perkins/Bostock Reference, F1408.3 .N86 1980
UNC: Davis, Davis Reference, F1408.3 .N86

Stephens, T.M. Dictionary of Latin American Racial and Ethnic Terminology. 2nd ed. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 1999.
Duke: Perkins/Bostock Stacks, GN564.L29 S84 1989
UNC: Davis Reference, GN562 .S74 1999

Tenenbaum, B.A., & Dorn, G.M. Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. New York: C. Scribner's Sons, 1996.
Duke: Perkins/Bostock Reference, F1406 .E53 1996, Lilly Reference, 980.003 E56, 1996
UNC: Davis Reference, House Undergraduate Reference, F1406 .E53 1996

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/latinamericanguide/encyclopedias.html
This page was last updated Monday, September 17, 2012.