On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Opera Masks

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Diane Steinhaus
Public Services Librarian
dstein@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-1113

Music Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Music Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Browsing Online and on the Shelves

Because printed music and books are classified--that is, grouped with similar items on the shelf--browsing can be an effective method for finding what you want.

If you're looking for vocal music in a particular medium, these classifications can guide you in the stacks (this is NOT a complete list!):

By Library of Congress Call Number:

M1495 Collections of sacred and secular vocal music
M1500 Full scores of operas and musicals
M1503 Piano-vocal scores of operas and musicals
M1507 Opera and musical anthologies
M1528-29 Ensembles for voice and various instruments
M1613 Voice with orchestra or other large ensemble
M1619 Collections of 2 or more composers
M1619.5 Specific poets
M1620 Collections by a single composer
M1621 Separate works
M1621.4 Song cycles
M1623 Songs accompanied by one non-piano instrument
M1630.18 Popular music collections
M1669-70 Spirituals
M2000 Full scores of oratorios
M2003 Piano-vocal scores of oratorios
M2110 Sacred anthologies
M2112 Sacred collections by one composer
M2113 Sacred separate works
M2113.4 Sacred song cycles
M2117 Hymnals
ML Literature on music
ML49-54 Librettos and translations
ML128.S3 Song bibliographies
ML128.V7 Song bibliographies
ML410 Composer bibliographies
ML420 Singer biographies
ML1700+ About opera
ML2800+ About songs
MT Music instruction and study
MT820+ Vocal technique and/or pedagogy
MT883 Diction
MT885 Vocalises
MT955+ Dramatic production and performance

By Dewey Decimal Call Number:

M784+ Vocal music


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/locating_art_songs/browsing.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, June 23, 2010.