On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Painting by Elliot Daingerfield from the database ARTstor

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Biographical Sources - specific to North Carolina artists

The Arts and Crafts in North Carolina 1699-1840 This major work, drawn from primary sources such as newspapers and court records, includes a section on artists (pp. 1-11) but is primarily devoted to artisans, architects, and craftsmen.

The Dialectic and Philanthropic Societies Portraits, 1795-1868 An honor's paper that thoroughly documents a collection of portraits located throughout campus. These portraits are of notable UNC alumni.

Native-born noted living American fine artists (painters & sculptors). Extract 34-NC Noted living American fine artists (painters & sculptors) who were born in North Carolina.

New Deal/WPA Art in North Carolina A useful private website for New Deal art with artist listings.

North Carolina Artists and Craftsmen.

North Carolina Photographers Through 1910 A list compiled from photographs and printed sources in the North Carolina Collection, UNC Library at Chapel Hill. For a comprehensive list of photographers active in North Carolina, consult the book Photographers in North Carolina: The First Century, 1842-1941

The North Carolina Portrait Index, 1700-1860.

North Carolina Visual Art and Artists Randall Library, UNC-Wilmington.
A large searchable online index (by artist's name) which includes information on 20,000 artists, 1900-1986, with some information on earlier artists, that are included in the Artist's File at UNC-W.

Western North Carolina Artists and Illustrators to 1950 A list of artists who "lived, worked, or visited western North Carolina and their association with this region resulted in a body of work depicting the mountains, the people and the way of life in the western part of the state. The list includes artists whose work falls largely before 1945."

See also:

Dictionary of North Carolina Biography

Biographical Sources - general, with geographic indexing by state

Arts in America: a bibliography See index volume under North Carolina or under individual artists.

Clara the National Museum of Women in the Arts Database. The "custom search" allows searching by country/state of origin and residence.

Craftsman Search "The database's purpose is to collect and make accessible data on the lives and working habits of southern artisans working prior to 1821 by collecting documentary evidence found in newspapers, city directories, court records and private papers." Also availalbe on fiche, Guide to the Index of Early Southern Artists and Artisans.

Folk Artists Biographical Index Includes an index by state, and entries for approximately 60 NC artists.

Other important sources, with no state indexing:

Union List of Artist Names (Getty) For major artists.

Who Was Who in American Art

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/ncartists/biographical.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.