On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Painting by Elliot Daingerfield from the database ARTstor

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Books About North Carolina Artists

Selected Monographs, Surveys, Collection, and Group Exhibition Catalogs (individual artist monographs excluded):

African-American artists with North Carolina connections.Prepared by Lynn Moody Igoe. Chapel Hill, NC: L. Igoe, 2006.

Art in North Carolina: episodes and developments, 1585-1970. Ola Maie Foushee. Art in North Carolina: Chapel Hill, N.C. [1972]. Still one of the most comprehensive guides to artists in North Carolina from its beginning to 1970. Foushee's regular column, "Art in North Carolina," appeared in many NC newspapers, including the Charlotte Observer. See also her "North Carolina's Community Art Centers" in Art in action: American art centers and the New Deal / edited by John Franklin White. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1987.

Aquisitions from North Carolina annuals, 1946-1966; exhibition, March 12-26, 1967 North Carolina Museum of Art. Raleigh [1967]. A useful catalog with substantial information on the artists.

The Arts at Black Mountain College. Mary Emma Harris. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 2002, 1987. One of many publications on the Black Mountain phenomenon. Also see the film "Fully Awake: Black Mountain College".

Black Women Artists: North Carolina Connections. Durham, NC: NCCU Art Museum, North Carolina Central University, 1990.

Crosscurrents: Art, Craft and Design in North Carolina. A continuation of the North Carolina Artists Exhibition.

DAG 50 years: a retrospective exhibition of the Durham Art Guild, 1948-1998: 23 August thru 23 September 1998 [catalogue editor/designer, Lee Hansley]. Durham, N.C.: Durham Art Guild, 1998.

N.C. Afro-American women: Feb. 7 - Mar. 6, 1985, Hickory Museum of Art: Marvette Aldrich, Sheila Batiste, Brenda Branch, Chandra Cox, Arcenia Davis, Minnie Evans, Esther Page Hill, Eva Hamlin Miller. Hickory, NC: The Museum, 1985.

New century artists: young African-Americans from North Carolina Chapel Hill, NC: Chapel Hill Preservation Society, 2000.

Nine from North Carolina: an exhibition of women artists. Organized by the North Carolina State Committee, for presentation at the National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington, D.C. Washington, D.C.: The Committee, [1989]. Includes several useful essays including "Woman and the Transformation of Art in Early 20th Century North Carolina," by Caroline Mesrobian Hickman.

North Carolina Artists Exhibition (Sponsored by the North Carolina Museum of Art and the North Carolina Art Society, 1937--.) see also Acquisitions from North Carolina annuals, 1946-1966; exhibition, March 12-26, 1967. Raleigh, The Museum, 1967.

North Carolina Arts Council artists fellowships [exhibitions] (location and publisher varies) 1983- .

North Carolina sculpture invitational. Duke University Art Museum, Durham, North Carolina, May 11-June 18, l969; Ackland Art Center, UNC at Chapel Hill, June 29-August 3, 1969. [Raleigh, N.C.: Printed by Litho Industries, 1969].

Permanent Collection: The Hickory Museum of Art. Hickory: The Museum, 1978.

Signs and wonders: outsider art inside North Carolina. Roger Manley. Raleigh: North Carolina Museum of Art: Distributed by the University of North Carolina Press, 1989.

Tryon artists, 1892-1942. Michael J. McCue. Columbus, N.C.: Condar, 2001. Includes biographies of 40 artists who worked in Tryon.

Twentieth Century Tar Heels. Jan Broadfoot. [Wendell, N.C.]: Broadfoot's of Wendell, 2004.

Two centuries of art in New Hanover County. Crockette W. Hewlett. Durham, N.C.: Moore, Pub. Co., 1976. Includes substantial biographical profiles of more than 170 artists native to the County or who taught or worked there.

Two hundred years of the visual arts in North Carolina: [catalog of an exhibition] 12 September-24 October 1976. Raleigh: North Carolina Museum of Art, 1976.

Windows to the past: primitive watercolors from Guilford County, North Carolina in the 1820s. Karen Cobb Carroll. Greensboro, N.C.: Greensboro Historical Museum, 1983.

Books with Portions Dedicated to NC Artists

Art across America: two centuries of regional painting, 1710-1920. William H. Gerdts. New York: Abbeville Press, 1990. Vol. 2 includes North Carolina [The South and the Midwest: art across America: two centuries of regional painting, 1710-1920].

Art of the American South, 1915-1945: picturing the past, portending regionalism by Mariea Caudill Dennison. Thesis (Ph. D.)--University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2000. Includes chapters on several NC artists and an excellent bibliography.

Democratic vistas: post offices and public art in the New Deal Marlene Park and Gerald E. Markowitz. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 1984. Includes appendix on New Deal art by state/ city. See also Depression post office murals and southern culture: a gentle reconstruction Sue Bridwell Beckham. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1989. Appendix by state/city.

Painting in the South, 1564-1980 / introduction by Ella-Prince Knox; essays by Donald B. Kuspit. Richmond: Virginia Museum, 1983.

A study of American art and sourthern artists of note, by Mary de Berniere Graves. Chapel Hill, The University of North Carolina Press, 1929. Graves, a noted Chapel Hill portrait artist and illustrator who studied with Chase and Henri, published this university extension course study outline for women's clubs; it includes a useful contemporary bibliography and mentions a few NC artists. Her papers, located in the North Carolina Collection at UNC, are a resource for a number of other NC artists.

Subdued hues: mood and scene in Southern landscape painting, 1865-1925 Estill Curtis Pennington. Augusta, GA: Morris Museum of Art, 1999. Includes such NC artists as Daingerfield and Frerichs.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/ncartists/books.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.