On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
Painting by Elliot Daingerfield from the database ARTstor

Menu  

Contact  question icon

picture of Heather Gendron

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Introduction

This guide will help answer frequently asked questions about artists of North Carolina. It includes a variety of sources, both in print and online, on artists native to or working in North Carolina from its beginnings to the present day. The focus is on visual artists, folk/outsider artists, and photographers. Also see our guide other guides related to this one: American Art and Research an Artist.

Featured Resources

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.

Art Full Text
Indexing from 1984-present. Full text from 1997 - present. Over 200 international publications on art and art history are indexed monthly.

Getty's Union List of Artist Names (publicly available)
Each artist record includes biographical information, names (including given names, pseudonyms, variant spellings, married names, etc., with one name flagged as the preferred name), related artists, notes, and citations. Covers antiquity to the present; international in scope.

Smithsonian Archives of American Art: Collections Online
Primary source material related to American art and artists.

SIRIS (Smithsonian Institution) Resarch Information System
Includes the Smithsonian American Art Museum Research Databases, encompasing the Inventory of American Painting & Sculpture, Photograph Archives and Pre-1877 Art Exhibition Catalogue Index.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/ncartists/index.html
This page was last updated Monday, August 10, 2009.