On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Painting by Elliot Daingerfield from the database ARTstor

Menu  

Contact  question icon

photo of Heather Gendron

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Museums of North Carolina

Carolina Arts Online A very comprehensive guide to current gallery and museum listings and arts organizations.

NC ECHO Exploring Cultural Heritage Online - Directory of NC Art Museums and Related Organizations
A virtual clearinghouse for NC's cultural heritage, including libraries, museums, arts councils, art centers and special collections.


Ackland Art Museum
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Appalachian Cultural Museum
Appalachian State University, Boone

Asheville Art Museum

Black Mountain College Project

Blount Bridgers House/Hobson Pittman Memorial Gallery

Center for Documentary Studies

Chapel Hill Museum

Contemporary Art Museum

Fayetteville Museum of Art

Gallery of Art and Design at North Carolina State University

Green Hill Center for North Carolina Art

Greenville County Museum of Art
This South Carolina museum includes a major collection of southern art.

Greenville Museum of Art
Includes works by Francis Speight, Sarah Blakeslee, and other NC artists.

Hickory Museum of Art
A noteworthy NC collection of American art.

Louise Wells Cameron Museum, Wilmington
Features a growing collection of work by NC artists and artisans.

Mint Museums, Charlotte
Features an artist database of works in the collection, including a large number of prints by Clare Leighton.

Morris Museum of Art
A museum of southern art which includes, in its list of artists, NC artists. Its library houses the Center for the Study of Southern Art, and includes the papers of several key artists.

Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts, Winston-Salem
MESDA maintains an artists and artisans database.

NCCU Art Museum, North Carolina Central University, Durham
A major collection of African-American artists' work.

North Carolina Museum of Art
In addition to hosting exhibitions of NC artists, the Museum's Library maintains a vertical file which includes NC artists.

North Carolina Museum of History, Raleigh

North Carolina School of the Arts
The work of visual artist alumni from the NCSA is highlighted here.

North Carolina Wesleyan University
Outsider artists collection.

Ogden Museum of Southern Art

Reynolda House, Winston Salem
One of the foremost collections of American art in the Southeast.

Rocky Mount Arts Center
Features a permanent collection of work by major NC artists.

Southeastern Center Contemporary Art, Winston Salem

Tryon Fine Arts Center

Weatherspoon Art Museum, U NC-G

Weems Art Gallery, Meredith College

Wellington B. Gray Gallery, East Carolina University

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/ncartists/museums.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.