On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Stone Mountain, NC

Menu

Contact  question icon

Miriam Kennard
Geological Sciences Librarian
kennard@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0681

Chat with us

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Geology Library

Citing Films

Writing and Citing - Refworks and Citation Builder

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

When looking for information on the geology of North Carolina, consider visiting the UNC Geological Sciences Library, which has an extensive collection on this topic. Browse our collection in Mitchell Hall or virtually in the QE 147 to QE 148 call number range to find books on North Carolina geology, including reports published by the North Carolina Geological Survey. You can also search the library catalog using keywords related to your topic, such as "North Carolina fossils" or "North Carolina gold". In addition to publications of the North Carolina Geological Survey, geological field trip guidebooks and MS and PhD theses are good sources for learning about the geology of a particular geographic area or geologic region. To find relevant guidebooks, use keywords or "Geology-North Carolina-Guidebooks" in the subject heading field. The North Carolina Collection in Wilson Library also has many resources related to this topic.

  • Exploring the Geology of the Carolinas: A Field Guide to Favorite Places from Chimney Rock to Charleston. Stewart, Kevin G., and Mary-Russell Roberson.

    Written by a UNC Geological Sciences professor, this is a reader-friendly guide to the geology of North Carolina and South Carolina. It pairs a brief geological history of the region with 31 field trips to sites where one can observe firsthand the evidence of geologic change found in rocks, river basins, mountains, waterfalls, and coastal land formations.

  • The Geology of the Carolinas: Carolina Geological Society Fiftieth Anniversary Volume. Horton, J. Wright, Jr. and Victor A. Zullo, eds.

    This book covers the geology of North and South Carolina, with detailed chapters on each of the geologic provinces in the state. There are also chapters on specific topics including metamorphism, rift basins, tectonics, and mineral resources, as well as numerous maps, photographs, diagrams and tables, and a comprehensive index.

  • North Carolina: Its Geology and Mineral Resources. Stuckey, Jasper L.

    This book is a great starting point for researching the geology of NC. It has detailed information about all aspects of North Carolina geology. Even though it was published in 1965, most of the text is still relevant today. There are a number of figures and black and white photographs included, as well as a detailed index.

  • North Carolina, The Years Before Man: A Geologic History. Beyer, Fred.

    Written for a general audience, this is a geological narrative describing the geological history of North Carolina, from 1,700 million years ago to present-day. It includes excellent diagrams and tables, two sections of color photographs, and an index.

  • GeoRef
    GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences, providing access to worldwide geological literature. It covers the geology of North America from 1669 to present and the rest of the world from 1933 to present. GeoRef indexes articles from more than 3,000 journals in 40 languages as well as books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. It also includes references to publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
  • GeoBase
    GEOBASE covers worldwide literature on geology, geography, ecology, and related disciplines. Over 2,000 journals are fully covered, and an additional 3,000 are selectively covered. More than 2,000 books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports are also covered.
  • North Carolina Geological Survey
    This official website of the NCGS has a wide range of links to information about minerals, resources, and general geology of the state. The website includes an interactive geological map and FAQs about geology in North Carolina.
  • Carolina Geological Society
    The Carolina Geological Society publishes guidebooks on the geology of the Carolinas. Under "Publications" you will find a list of their guidebooks and links to those available online. Our library also has most of the CGS guidebooks.
 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/ncgeology/
This page was last updated Monday, November 23, 2009.