On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
chemistry image

Menu  

Contact  question icon

kenan-library@listserv.unc.edu
919-962-1188

Chat with a Librarian

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Introduction 

This guide presents resources that can be used to assist researchers and students in physical chemistry. It includes electronic databases, tables of physical property data, handbooks, physical chemistry journals, dictionaries and encyclopedias, and other helpful resources that can aid with finding property data, learning mathematics needed for physical chemistry research, and providing instruction in physical chemistry.

Databases 

Landolt-Bornstein
SpringerMaterials is a database containing the entire Landolt-Bornstein New Book Series, an extensive collection of data in the physical sciences and engineering, and the Linus Pauling File Database (LPF) Multinaries Edition-2008, the most comprehensive database on inorganic solid phases. It contains 3000 properties for 250,000 substances and materials systems, and over 1.2 million primary literature references from over 8000 journals.

Reaxys
Reaxys searches data from the Beilstein, Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry databases. The Beilstein Database is comprised of content from the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry and primary literature articles. The Gmelin Database content is from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry and scientific journals in inorganic, organometallic, and physical chemistry and physics. The Patent Chemistry Database covers patent documents from international patent offices.

SciFinder
SciFinder searches content from several CAS databases, including over 55 million substances from CAS REGISTRY, over 33 million journal article and patent references from CAplus, and over 27 million reactions and more than 13 million synthetic preparations from CASREACT. Records include links to the literature referencing the substance, experimental and predicted property data for over 2 billion properties, synonyms, molecular formulae, structure diagrams, and spectra.

NIST Chemical Kinetics Database
The database includes essentially all reported kinetics results for thermal gas-phase chemical reactions. The database contains in excess of 38,000 separate reaction records for over 11,700 distinct reactant pairs. These data have been abstracted from over 12,000 papers with literature coverage through early 2000. Direct links are provided to the corresponding NIST Chemistry WebBook page for all substances for which such records are available.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
The NIST Chemistry WebBook is a database of thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) under the Standard Reference Data Program.

ChemIDplus
ChemIDplus is a chemical dictionary and structure database from the National Library of Medicine. ChemIDplus is constantly updated, and includes substance records for 389,810 substances from over 70 resources, including NLM databases, international chemical substance inventories, and other web databases from the EPA, NIH, WHO, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and other organizations.

ChemSpider
ChemSpider aggregates freely available chemistry data from across the web. The data sources include PubMed and PubChem (National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)), RSC publications, and ChemIDPlus (NLM), as well as publicly available data from GlaxoSmithKline, National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), and Sigma-Aldrich (a major chemical supplier and publisher), as well as data supplied by researchers.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/physical_chemistry/index.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, August 03, 2011.