On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
urban sprawl

Contact  question icon

Amanda Henley
GIS Librarian
Davis Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Carolina BLU   Campus delivery icon

Is the book you need at another library at UNC? Have it delivered to any library location on campus through Carolina BLU.

Web Sites

American Planning Association

Lincoln Institute of Land Policy

Planetizen: Urban Planning, Design and Development Network

Shifting Ground

Smart Growth Network

Books book icon

The Regional City: Planning for the End of Sprawl. Calthorpe, Peter
Davis Library - HT392 .C28 2001
Also available as an ebook.

When City and Country Collide: Managing Growth in the Metropolitan Fringe. Daniels, Thomas L.
Davis Library or Law Library - HT334.U5 D35 1999

From Sprawl to Smart Growth: Successful Legal, Planning, and Environmental Systems. Freilich, Robert H.
Davis Library or Law Library - KF5692 .F74 1999

Urban Land Use Planning, 5th ed. Berke, Philip R., David R. Godschalk, and Edward J. Kaiser ; with Daniel A. Rodriguez.
Davis Library - HT167 .U726 2006
See also the Hypothetical City Workbook of exercises and GIS data to accompany the textbook.

Growth Management Principles and Practices. Nelson, Arthur C.
Davis Library - HT392 .N457 1995

Environmental Regulation and Impact Assessment. Ortolano, Leonard.
Davis Library - TD194.65 .O78 1997

The Practice of Local Government Planning. Hoch, Charles J., Linda C. Dalton, and Frank S. So, eds.
Davis Library - HT167 .P7 2000

Environmental Land Use Planning and Management. Randolph, John.
Davis Library - HD108.3 .R36 2004

Academic journals article icon

Journal of Land Use and Environmental Law

Journal of Land Use Science

Journal of Planning Education and Research

Journal of the American Planning Association

Land Use Policy

More e-journals
A list of additional e-journals available at UNC-Chapel Hill related to city and regional planning.

Article Indexes and Databases

Index to Current Urban Documents (ICUD)
Index to current urban documents (ICUD) Online is a fully searchable index of reports and research generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada.

ULI Development Case Studies
ULI Development Case Studies (formerly Project Reference Files) contain development details on over 300 innovative and successful projects from 1985-present. All users can search the Case Studies database for summary descriptions. Only subscribers, however, will be able to view the full text. (Source: vendor website)

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
A bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.

Academic Search Premier
Abstracts & references for articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade & general publications, & references for The NY Times.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Provides information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.

JSTOR
JSTOR provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences.

More article indexes and databases
This is a link to a list of city and regional planning databases, indexes and research guides available at UNC-Chapel Hill.


More Article Databases |  How Do I Find Articles? | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text?  | How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/planning/landuse.html
This page was last updated Thursday, February 02, 2012.