On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
primarysource image

Contact  question icon

Robert Dalton
Librarian for History
Davis Library
rdalton@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Tommy Nixon
Librarian for English/Comparative Literature
Davis Library
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Carolina BLU Campus Delivery Service BLU Logo

Through the Carolina BLU Delivery Service, you can request to have books and articles available at any of the UNC-CH campus libraries, as well as books and articles requested through interlibrary loan, delivered to the campus library most convenient to you.

About

The Web sites listed below are directories, gateways and databases that help you locate digitized primary source documents and collections. They are generally arranged by subject, time period, or geographically. Some are keyword searchable. Some include secondary as well as primary sources. Because there is no single comprehensive database for primary sources, you may want to explore several of these sites. (Some of these sites include resources that are available by subscription only. UNC Chapel Hill students will also have access to many of these from our E-Research Tools page).


Directories

American Women's History: Digital Collections of Primary Sources
A subject directory of digitized collections of primary source materials for the study of American women's history. From Middle Tennessee State University Library.

Digitized Primary American History Sources
This directory includes general and topical sources, works of presidents, photographs, illustrations, cartoons and sources for the U.S. at war. From the University of Northern Iowa Library.

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe
"These links connect to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated." Arranged by country and then chronologically. From Brigham Young University.

History Guide
This database is a subject gateway to history Web sites of scholarly interest. It can be searched by keyword or browsed by region, time period, and subject area. It contains records and links to hundreds of primary source collections. From the Göttingen State and University Library.

History Matters
This database is a gateway to Web resources for teachers of U.S. history. Choose "WWW.History" to browse sites by topic and time period. Choose "Many Pasts" to browse a collection of over 900 primary documents. Or choose Full Search to search by keyword and limit by type of primary source and other criteria. The materials in "Many Pasts" emphasize the experiences of "ordinary Americans". From the American Social History Project / Center for Media and Learning and the Center for History and New Media.

History On-Line
This database links to hundreds of history Web sites, many of which contain primary sources. Browse, or search by keyword and limit by time period. From the Institute of Historical Research.

U.S. Government Historic Documents
This is an extensive directory to U.S. Federal government primary sources from the University of Michigan Documents Center.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/primarysources/directories_of_digital_collections.html
This page was last updated Monday, November 08, 2010.