On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
primarysource image

Contact  question icon

Robert Dalton
Librarian for History
Davis Library
rdalton@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Tommy Nixon
Librarian for English/Comparative Literature
Davis Library
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Carolina BLU Campus Delivery Service BLU Logo

Through the Carolina BLU Delivery Service, you can request to have books and articles available at any of the UNC-CH campus libraries, as well as books and articles requested through interlibrary loan, delivered to the campus library most convenient to you.

Search for Books book image

   

Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat


One good strategy when you are searching the library catalog is to begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant resources. Keyword terms used to find primary sources can include:

  • Sources
  • Diaries
  • Correspondence
  • Letters
  • Interviews
  • Maps
  • Memoirs
  • Personal narratives
  • Pamphlets
  • Speeches
  • Archives
  • Archival resources

Examples of keyword searches might look like:

Once you identify appropriate items, Library of Congress (LC) Subject Headings can be used to narrow your search and link you to similar resources with the same subject heading. Subject headings are found under the "Description" or "Full Record" tabs.

For example, a search conducted using a LC subject heading is: Slavery--United States--Personal narratives


Archives and Manuscript Collections

Researchers have access to unpublished primary source documents found in special collections on campus. These collections can be searched in the library's catalog by conducting an Advanced Search, and using the "Format" and "Location" drop-down boxes.  In addition, because not all items in those collections are listed in the online catalog, check collection guides at their websites.

Be aware that special procedures and policies are in place in all archives and manuscripts collections. If you have not visited any of these collections before, an email message or phone call in advance of your visit is recommended.

Electronic Primary Sources

The library subscribes to a growing number of electronic databases that include primary source materials. These databases are accessible through the library's website. See the menu item labeled "UNC Electronic Primary Sources" at the top of this page for a list of databases containing primary source material.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/primarysources/finding_primarysources_at_unc.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, December 04, 2012.